VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I would like to install Linux on my pc and then install a dedicated software. Two questions;

1. Keep in mind I am not a programmer so I would like to install or setup a linux that can just be installed without going through any hassle, like windows. I heard ubuntu is good for beginners but I do not know if it can support the software below.

I want to install AUTODESK FLAME For LINUX 64 platforms !

BEWARE:
    These applications do not run under the commercial distribution of Red Hat Enterprise Linux but only with Autodesk distribution of Red Hat Enterprise Linux Workstation 4.
    One DVD, included with your release shipment. The Autodesk distribution installs the Linux
    software packages Autodesk applications require; these applications do not run under the
    commercial distribution of Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS 4 . If you received a new system with
    this release, your shipment also included the CD set for the commercial distribution of Red
    Hat Enterprise Linux WS 4 . Do not use this commercial distribution; use the DVD
    distribution instead. You can use the commercial distribution to activate your Red Hat
    subscription if it is not already activated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    It sounds that you need to install the "Autodesk distribution of Red Hat Enterprise Linux Workstation 4".
    A linux distribution is like an operating system. Ubuntu is one distribution, Red Hat is another one.
    Your info says that this software does not even work with a normal Red Hat Enterprise Linux but you need the special "Autodesk distribution", whatever this is. Sounds like a commercial software package where the operating system is included on the installation disc.

So the answer is that it is unlikely to work on ubuntu. Install Linux from the supplied Autodesk disc.
    I guess you can ask autodesk support how to do it...
    Ronny
    Quote Quote