VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    i have a hauppauge hvr-1800. i understand that this card has its own built in chip to encode/decode. so the output file will be mpeg2. i want to take the captured footage from the the vcr and color correct it(its converted super8 footage- really bad quality, going to do my best with it). my question is... is the hauppauge going to limit my ability to get good quality out of the corrected video once i edit and render it? is there a different way to grab the raw signal from the vcr and use that somehow... maybe a different card? thanks for the help. im still new at this.

mike
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I don't know the card, but it may allow you to capture using other codecs, just without the support of the on-board encoder. If not, push the bitrate up as high as you can. 12mbps is probably about what you would want for SD material.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thanks. im going to have to research that. the capture software that comes with the card is not my favorite.

mike
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The hauppauge hvr-1800 has an internal MPeg2 hardware encoder for capturing from SD (composite or S-Video). I don't know a way to bypass encoding. Vegas won't see the card. You need to capture with Hauppauge Win7 software or third party PVR software.

MPeg2 files can be imported to Vegas but this compressed file isn't optimal for restoration.

Alternative is to capture uncompressed using a classic tuner card. More important for restoration is time base correction before capture A/D.
    Last edited by edDV; 26th Mar 2010 at 01:12.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM