VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I've been using Lagarith for a few years now and while it does indeed get the job done for captures, I have started to grow frustrated with its limitations. One, no support outside Windows. Two, even within Windows, there isn't much support outside of Virtualdub. If I have a folder full of Lagarith-encoded files, there's nothing I can do about converting them outside of VirtualDub. WinFF won't recognize them. Handbrake won't recognize them. Frankly most tools won't touch them. So far I've only had luck with Windows DVD Maker (blech), VirtualDub and AVS2DVD.

I'm not sure whether I have the CPU horsepower to capture to x264 lossless. Maybe not. But as a general rule, would this be a better format for archival/storage of footage if space isn't the issue. I'd have much better cross-platform support and presumably any program that decodes x264 files (which is just about everything) should be able to handle it. I haven't experimented with the format to know if there is a downside. I don't see it being used or recommended much.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Any tool that can accept avs scripts can accept lagarith through avisynth frameserving ; for example ffmpeg can (the engine behind winff)

Lagarith isn't very good for capturing, because it's slow in terms of latency which can lead to dropped frames on some systems. Huffyuv, and UT Video codec are much faster and better candidates, but less compressed. Lagarith is better for archival or storage because of it's better compression

What kind of sources? x264 is YV12 only (no RGB mode)

While many decoders and software can work with x264, not all are capable of decoding it's lossless mode
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Any encoder that supports avisynth should be able to see them simply by wrapping them in a simple loading script. One line is all it would need.