VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello,

I'm an extreme newbie when it comes to burning anything more than audio CDs. However, recently I decided to burn some of my movies that I have on an external HDD to an SVCD so I can play it on a normal stand alone dvd player. I don't know if my DVD player supports XviD/Divx. In fact, I don't even know if they're the same thing. Googling it gave me mixed answers :/

Anyways, after I decided I was going to burn an SVCD, I started researching and it has been nothing but frustration. I have downloaded a few softwares but none seem to work!!

Let me tell you about the file. It is on an external HDD. When I try to open it using TMPGEnc, it gives me an error stating that the "file cannot open, or unsupported." The file appears as a "filename.xvid.avi" file. What does that mean? I understand that AVI is a type of file and Xvid is a codec. I also understand that in order to burn it to an SVCD, I need to covert the file to MPEG2 format. At least, that's what my research shows.

What do I convert, and how do I convert it?

I tried doing this some time back, but I gave up since it was so complicated. I thought I'll give it another try and I'm hitting the same road blocks again! It's so frustrating

Any help is appreciated

Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    That message in TMPEG means the video or audio codecs in the file are compatible with TMPEG. Try renaming the file to something simple like 01.avi
    You need to find out what codecs are in the file.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Oh, and one more thing:

Does anyone know how to uninstall VirtualDub from my computer? It's not showing up under the "add or remove programs."

I hate it when I install programs that don't show up on add or remove. I don't even know how to find out if that will happen or not.

Sign.. This can't be this complicated...
    Quote Quote  
  4. How do I find out what codecs are in a file? What software do you use for something like that?