I have a 22 minute video that I'd like to speed up so that it's about a minute or two in length. The two video editing programs I've got are Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 9.0 and VirtualDub. I initially tried speeding it up with VirtualDub by simply changing the frame rate until the total run time went down to around 90 seconds. However, after saving the video this way, the finished product plays for about a half second, freezes for about 3 seconds, then plays and freezes again so that didn't work.
In Sony Vegas I held down Ctrl and dragged the video slider backwards as far as it would go (5 minutes and 30 seconds) and then rendered the video, which worked. I then opened the produced 5 and a half minute video in Vegas, held down Ctrl and dragged the slider backwards to 1:36 this time and saved it again. Unfortunately this time the result was a 1:36 video of nothing, just a black screen.
So what am I doing wrong here? There must be something fixable that's causing the video to either freeze or become nothing but black.
Thanks for any and all help
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 31
-
-
One option is to use avisynth to do this. Basically you select every (nth) frame, and return the framerate back to the original fps
In this example, I choose every 10th frame, then returned the rate back to 29.97 (assuming that's what you started out with)
AVISource("video.avi")
SelectEvery(10)
AssumeFPS(30000,1001)
You can't just change the framerate in vdub; it will just play a higher fps but the same number of framecount. You might exceed playback capabilities if it's 100's of fps for example. What you want is to sample every n frames, as if you shot it in time lapse for real
Not sure why vegas isn't working out; it might be that you've reached a limit -
The last timer I did something like this I used avisynth and multiple SelectEven() statements. This helped to not only speed up the footage, but to add to the timelapse feel by actually removing frames, not blending them as Vegas does.
Something simple like
DirectShowSource("pathtovideo/video.avi")
SelectEven()
SelectEven()
SelectEven()
SelectEven()
AssumeFPS(30000,1001)
Each SelectEven() statement reduces the number of frames by 50%, so you only a few repeats to get your running time right down.Last edited by guns1inger; 4th Mar 2010 at 00:03. Reason: Forgot to adjust framerate
Read my blog here.
-
-
-
Read my blog here.
-
use windows movie maker, it comes with your pc unless you have a mac. its very easy to use
-
If I remember correctly, Vegas uses field/frame blending when it does frame rate conversions. VirtualDub can do what the OP wants. It has both source frame rate adjustment and decimation. SelectEvery(8) is exactly the same as SelectEven().SelectEven().SelectEven(), and that's exactly the same as ChangeFPS(1/8 the original fps). Well, maybe not exactly the same frame will be chosen by each. But only one frame out of every 8 will be kept. And you have to use AssumeFPS() after any of them or you'll end up with a slideshow.
Last edited by jagabo; 9th Mar 2010 at 21:37.
-
-
Maybe he meant that you can only do powers of 2 with SelectEven(). You can't get the equivalent of SelectEvery(5), for example.
-
It is to do with the way the frames are removed. While the two methods may remove the same number of frames, the order in which they are removed will be different, which can effect the way the video appears. I really don't care what method anyone uses. I have mine, you have yours. I don't understand why it bothers you.
Read my blog here.
-
It doesn't bother me - I was just trying to understand why you favoured one method over the other.
But I think in any case you'll find that SelectEvery(8) removes exactly the same frames as SelectEven().SelectEven().SelectEven(). The advantage of SelectEvery (for me) is that the 8 can be changed to any number, not just the powers of two you get by adding more SelectEvens. -
-
poisondeathray, thanks I was searching for this effect. I used it to make a silent video clip with the video speed up to give that time lapse video, Charlie Chaplin old movie look or stop motion look.
a = avisource ("C:\images\248CANON\MVI_3448.AVI", true )
d = avisource ("C:\images\248CANON\MVI_3444.AVI", true )
blank_audio_for_all=BlankClip(a, audio_rate=44100, length=a.FrameCount())
outtakes=d.SelectEvery(5).AssumeFPS(a)
outtakes= AudioDub(outtakes, blank_audio_for_all.trim(0,outtakes.framecount()))
Thanks, Lindylex -
-
Gavino, your suggestion the line bellow does not work.
outtakes= AudioDub(outtakes, blank_audio_for_all.trim(0,outtakes.framecount()-1))
My original works.
outtakes=d.SelectEvery(5).AssumeFPS(a)
outtakes= AudioDub(outtakes, blank_audio_for_all.trim(0,outtakes.framecount()))Last edited by lindylex; 28th Apr 2010 at 01:15.
-
Here is how I do in with VirtualDub:
Source rate adjustment: Change frame rate to (29.97 x <speed up amount>)
Frame rate conversion: Decimate by <speed up amount> -
-
Hi Everyone!
I'm sooo happy I found this forum and thread. I've been using Vegas 9.0 pro for quite a while but have been frustrated by the limitations of time lapse with Vegas - frame interpolation, motion blur, having to make multiple passes because even combining velocity envelope and "squeeze" one can only get 12:1 with each pass.
I've always wanted to just throw away frames, and the tip below is exactly what I need. I'm working on a time-lapse of a drive from Durango CO to Texas for my YouTube channel, need to compress about 60:1.
I'm and old fart programmer and love scripts, so I installed the latest AVIsynth and 64-bit VirtualDub. Using the script below, I can drag the .avs file onto Media Player Classic and to my amazement, it is perfectly speeded up!
But, I'm having problems with Virtualdub, which I assume I need to be able to save the output. I get the following error, even after running the frameserver64.reg.
C:\apps\virtualDub>vdub64 c:\temp2\test.avs
VirtualDub CLI Video Processor Version 1.9.9 (build 32817/release-AMD64) for AMD64
Copyright (C) Avery Lee 1998-2009. Licensed under GNU General Public License
AVI: Opening file "c:\temp2\test.avs"
AVI Import Filter error: (Unknown) (80040154)
C:\apps\virtualDub>
any help to get me started greatly appreciated!
Steve
-
Although it's quite old and maybe things have changed since then:
Why Avisynth can't be used with 64-bit VirtualDub
It looks like there is a 64 bit build of AviSynth:
http://code.google.com/p/avisynth64/Last edited by jagabo; 14th Jul 2010 at 22:07.
-
Thanks, jagabo!
I've been fiddling around with vdub and it does seem to have the ability to decimate and save (at least .avi, which is the only thing that will work with the 720p vid I'm trying to create). So, for now, I don't seem to need AVIsynth. However, I will try the 64-bit version ASAP and report back.
What I *really* need now is an external 1 TB SATA drive ... need to take a trip to CompUSA...
Steve -
There's no real advantage to using 64 bit VirtualDub. The speed gains are minimal and VirutualDub itself doesn't use much memory.
I'd stick to the 32 bit version. And yes, VirtualDub has the ability to decimate. If you simply decimate in VirtualDub it will also slow down the frame rate, leaving you with the same running time. If you want a fast-motion video you have to increase the frame rate in the upper part of the frame rate dialog. For example, if you have a 25 fps video and you want it to run twice as fast: change the frame rate in the top part of the dialog to 50 fps, then decimate by 2. That will give you a 25 fps video with half the running time.Last edited by jagabo; 15th Jul 2010 at 06:32.
-
Thanks, Jagabo.
I've mastered using VirtualDub to do the timelapse/decimate. Pretty easy.
But, now I'm really in the middle of a space crisis. I have the hi-res (1280x720) files from my Sony HDR-CX-550V that I shot on the drive with the camera hanging upside-down. I need to get them into a format thay vdub can read; I have been using AVI. So, I render them in Vegas Pro 9, rotating 180 degrees. Vdub can then read and decimate.But, using uncompressed AVI, the ~ 3 GB source files explode to about 200GB.
I've been searching around for a lossless AVI codec. Tried huffyuv 2.2.2 , but in Vegas, it does not show up as an option when rendering .avi. I suspect the problem is related to vfw vs directshow. I tried using the Sony 10-bit YUV, but VirtualDub cannot read the resulting files.
So, is there a way to render my camera files in Vegas, using lossless compression, into 1280x720 files that vdub can work with?
Thanks!
Steve -
are you using x64 vegas , and x64 huffyuv ? x86 version won't show up in 64-bit software
x64 huffyuv can be found here
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squid_80/ -
Virtualdub can probably load your camcorder's files directly with the right source plugin and codecs. It also has a rotate filter.
Similar Threads
-
Best method for time lapse video
By jairovital in forum EditingReplies: 38Last Post: 26th Apr 2012, 12:11 -
Time-Lapse Video Does Not Play Smoothly
By radardetector in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 16Last Post: 17th May 2011, 10:21 -
Security Time Lapse Footage to DivX/Xvid
By NightFire in forum Video ConversionReplies: 4Last Post: 2nd Feb 2010, 22:51 -
using a webcam, plus time-lapse software, to make a normal speed video..
By snafubaby in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 2Last Post: 27th Apr 2008, 01:38 -
time-lapse video setup
By snafubaby in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 3Last Post: 11th Dec 2007, 13:42