VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    First, let me say that I am a video/DVD novice and so am working with a steep learning curve here. I am a teacher applying for National Board certification. Part of the process requires burning a DVD of myself teaching, which MUST PLAY when placed in any computer or my submission will be considered unscorable and I will be denied. If I am denied the certification, I miss out on a pay increase and various other job perks. Also, next go around I will have to pay the $3000 application fee myself instead of it being covered by the state. Needless to say, getting it right this time is preferable.

I recorded the video using a digital JVC camera which created .MOV files. I edited the video using Windows Movie Maker, which created .MSWMM (windows movie maker project) files. I am attempting to burn these files to DVD using a memorex USB DVD burner. The burner came with a 'plug and play' feature, so I didn't install the software initially and instead tried to burn using my computer's software. The first burn attempt resulted in an unplayable DVD that wasn't "finalized". The second attempt resulted in a DVD which you could visibly see burn marks on, but when placed in a computer/player registered as a blank disk. My next attempt will involve me installing the memorex burner software and attempting to burn using their program.

The short of it is, I really don't know what I am doing and I NEED this DVD to work every time it is placed in a computer. Any information or advice about how to make this work is much appreciated. Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    In Windows Movie Maker, make sure you set the 'finalize disc' option, or, unset the 'will continue to use disk option'. I forget what it is off hand, haven't use WMM for a while. But, it will create a playable DVD.