VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    This is probably gonna be lengthy... I apologize in advance.

I have been editing on a Pinnacle DV500 Plus with Premiere 6.0 since 2003. The machine I ran it on is ancient, has crashed more times then I can count, and, well, it's dead.

My girlfriend picked up a Black Friday special for me as a Christmas gift. It's an HP Pavillion that came with a 20" widescreen monitor, 2.1 ghz AMD Sempron, 3GB RAM, 320GB HDD, Windows 7, etc. for $400. Not an ideal setup for modern editing systems, but I didn't know that when I pointed it out to her in the circular, as I haven't kept up with the goings-on since my DV500 was doing just fine.

So here's my deal. I am an independant pro wrestling promoter. We crank out 3 or 4 DVD productions a year. These productions require more than I can do with consumer level products, but my new toy only meets the minimum requirements for CS4 and the like. I downgraded my HP to XP Pro SP2 but the DV500 still refuses to work.

I need the least expensive possible way to get up and going with this new HP. I don't mind staying downgraded to XP, but I'd like to be able to use Premiere (any version - I know I more than exceed the requirements for any version thru Pro 2.0), capture from analog sources, output to an external monitor in real time, and hopefully do some editing in real time. Basically I want to have the same functionality I had with my DV500.

Videoguys won't suggest anything they don't currently carry, and searching for reviews and comparrisons from God knows how many years ago, when I don't even know exactly what I'm looking for, is impossible.

Would a DV500 DVD work, or is it just a rehash of the original like the DV500 Plus was? I can't find any XP-era Canopus products, the XP-era Matrox stuff is still going used for $400-500, and the Pinnacle Studio products won't handle my workload.

I fear I may be expecting too much but you never know until you ask.