VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Newbie here. Can't even get started with Streamclip. On a MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard, I'm trying to rip a commercial DVD, and then edit it in iMovie. I've been using Handbrake as my ripper, but I can't edit the result in iMovie. They suggested Streamclip.

I select "File", then "Open DVD". In the "Devices" area, I select the DVD. Streamclip asks "Please choose which DVD movie you want to open" and gives a drop down list - I choose number one. Each and every time, no matter which number I select, Streamclip replies with "File open error: the file is too short".

Obviously I'm an idiot and I don't know what I'm doing. Can anybody please help me get past step 1? Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Maybe because handbrake is no ripper. You need to use mactheripper or ripit to rip/decrypt the commercial dvd.

And I'm moving you to our mac section.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    I was asking about Streamclip. In Streamclip, I select "File", then "Open DVD". In the "Devices" area, I select the DVD. Streamclip asks "Please choose which DVD movie you want to open" and gives a drop down list - I choose number one. Each and every time, no matter which number I select, Streamclip replies with "File open error: the file is too short". This is a STREAMCLIP error message (e.g., not Handbrake or the Mac OS).
    Quote Quote  
  4. (just an idea)
    you try to open a commercial DVD (=with DRM)
    remove any protections first (with MacTheRipper for example) and give the resulting files to MPegStreamClip

PS: removing DRM is forbidden in some countries (for example in mine). So, the author of MPSC does not handle DRMed DVD
    For DVD, iPad, HD, connected TV, … iMovie & FCPX? MovieConverter-Studio 3 (01/24/2015) - Handle your camcorder's videos? even in 60p or 60i? do a slow-motion? MovieCam.
    Quote Quote