VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 31
Thread
  1. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I keep getting the same failure message for the following two movies.... "Public Enemies" and "The Hangover".

    Note: I have backed up a dozen movies in the past, and for some reason I am having trouble backing up movies with VC-1. Can anyone make a suggestion on what to try next? FYI - I have WM11 installed and all codecs are up to date.


    [21:34:26] BD Rebuilder v0.31.06 (beta)
    - Source: BLURAY_MUXED_FILES
    - Input BD size: 12.58 GB
    - Approximate total content: [01:39:47.007]
    - Target BD size: 4.27 GB
    - Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
    - MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
    - Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
    [21:34:27] PHASE ONE, Encoding
    - [21:34:27] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
    - [21:40:25] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Reached retry limit. Aborting.
    - FFDSHOW Revision: (3178)
    - FFDSHOW: VC-1 not set to wmv9
    [21:40:28] - Failed video encode, aborted

    I disabled the FFDSHOW VC-1, but I don't seem to be getting any success.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi titot4u. I don't see that the problems with the two discs mentioned have a common denominator. Both are VC-1, of course, but the MS VC-1 decoder should make that a non-problem. One disc from Universal, one from Warner. One with interactive map, one with PIP commentary.

    Perhaps you should try to determine if the problem is complex java menus. (Yeah, you have movie only mode enabled, but is the disc being remapped correctly?). Use BDinfo to identify the main movie *.mpls of one of the movies, choose that in tsMuxer and extract main movie, muxing to Blu-Ray folder. Do it direct from original disc with AnyDVDHD running. See if BDRB chokes on that too.

    Other than that, nothing else occurs to me at the moment. :P
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by titot4u
    I keep getting the same failure message for the following two movies.... "Public Enemies" and "The Hangover".

    Note: I have backed up a dozen movies in the past, and for some reason I am having trouble backing up movies with VC-1. Can anyone make a suggestion on what to try next? FYI - I have WM11 installed and all codecs are up to date.


    [21:34:26] BD Rebuilder v0.31.06 (beta)
    - Source: BLURAY_MUXED_FILES
    - Input BD size: 12.58 GB
    - Approximate total content: [01:39:47.007]
    - Target BD size: 4.27 GB
    - Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
    - MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
    - Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
    [21:34:27] PHASE ONE, Encoding
    - [21:34:27] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
    - [21:40:25] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Reached retry limit. Aborting.
    - FFDSHOW Revision: (3178)
    - FFDSHOW: VC-1 not set to wmv9
    [21:40:28] - Failed video encode, aborted

    I disabled the FFDSHOW VC-1, but I don't seem to be getting any success.
    I would try to set FFDSHOW VC-1 to wmv9

    ocgw

    peace
    i7 2700K @ 4.4Ghz 16GB DDR3 1600 Samsung Pro 840 128GB Seagate 2TB HDD EVGA GTX 650
    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic368691.html
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Hi titot4u. I don't see that the problems with the two discs mentioned have a common denominator. Both are VC-1, of course, but the MS VC-1 decoder should make that a non-problem. One disc from Universal, one from Warner. One with interactive map, one with PIP commentary.

    Perhaps you should try to determine if the problem is complex java menus. (Yeah, you have movie only mode enabled, but is the disc being remapped correctly?). Use BDinfo to identify the main movie *.mpls of one of the movies, choose that in tsMuxer and extract main movie, muxing to Blu-Ray folder. Do it direct from original disc with AnyDVDHD running. See if BDRB chokes on that too.

    Other than that, nothing else occurs to me at the moment. :P
    For some strange reason, I cannot figure out why AnyDVDHD does not read directly from the disk, but I am able to rip the image and mount it to the drive with no problems. I will try the mount procedure and follow your steps above. I will get back with results tomorrow.

    One more question: Isn't FFFSHOW suppose to display WM11 rather than WM9 in the VC-1 field?

    Fritzi93...Nice to see you again man...Its been a long time since I needed your help
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ocgw
    Originally Posted by titot4u
    I keep getting the same failure message for the following two movies.... "Public Enemies" and "The Hangover".

    Note: I have backed up a dozen movies in the past, and for some reason I am having trouble backing up movies with VC-1. Can anyone make a suggestion on what to try next? FYI - I have WM11 installed and all codecs are up to date.


    [21:34:26] BD Rebuilder v0.31.06 (beta)
    - Source: BLURAY_MUXED_FILES
    - Input BD size: 12.58 GB
    - Approximate total content: [01:39:47.007]
    - Target BD size: 4.27 GB
    - Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
    - MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
    - Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
    [21:34:27] PHASE ONE, Encoding
    - [21:34:27] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
    - [21:40:25] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Reached retry limit. Aborting.
    - FFDSHOW Revision: (3178)
    - FFDSHOW: VC-1 not set to wmv9
    [21:40:28] - Failed video encode, aborted

    I disabled the FFDSHOW VC-1, but I don't seem to be getting any success.
    I would try to set FFDSHOW VC-1 to wmv9

    ocgw

    peace
    I tried that and it didn't work
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by titot4u
    For some strange reason, I cannot figure out why AnyDVDHD does not read directly from the disk, but I am able to rip the image and mount it to the drive with no problems.
    That would make me suspect that the disc is not being decrypted correctly. Maybe there's something on the SlySoft forums about those two movies; I'll have a look. But a VC-1 decoding problem can't be ruled out yet. [shrugs]

    As for the last time I "helped" you, IIRC, you had found the answer already, and didn't realize it yet.

    Just to throw something out there, does the encode fail with your last known good version of BDRB? When a new version comes out, I always retain at least two previous builds for awhile, in case the new one craps out.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Didn't find much. Both movies are December 2009 releases.

    Perhaps AnyDVDHD needs an update to deal with "The Hangover"?

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=35969&highlight=hangover

    "The Hangover" disc uses MKB (Master Key Block) v.15, BTW.

    Nothing much on "Public Enemies" either.

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=37298&highlight=public+enemies
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Perhaps you should try to determine if the problem is complex java menus. (Yeah, you have movie only mode enabled, but is the disc being remapped correctly?). Use BDinfo to identify the main movie *.mpls of one of the movies, choose that in tsMuxer and extract main movie, muxing to Blu-Ray folder. Do it direct from original disc with AnyDVDHD running. See if BDRB chokes on that too.
    I checked off "Full backup" and here are my results:

    [12:01:54] BD Rebuilder v0.31.06 (beta)
    - Source: BLURAY_MUXED_FILES
    - Input BD size: 12.58 GB
    - Approximate total content: [01:39:47.007]
    - Target BD size: 4.27 GB
    - Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
    - Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
    [12:01:54] PHASE ONE, Encoding
    - [12:01:54] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
    - [12:06:54] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Encode failed. Retrying.
    - Reached retry limit. Aborting.
    - FFDSHOW Revision: (3178)
    - FFDSHOW: VC-1 not set to wmv9
    - FFDSHOW: MPEG-2 is not set to libavcodec
    [12:06:58] - Failed video encode, aborted

    I also tried the past three versions of BDrebuilder and same resulst


    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Didn't find much. Both movies are December 2009 releases.

    Perhaps AnyDVDHD needs an update to deal with "The Hangover"?

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=35969&highlight=hangover

    "The Hangover" disc uses MKB (Master Key Block) v.15, BTW.

    Nothing much on "Public Enemies" either.

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=37298&highlight=public+enemies
    Here's something I tried: I was able to shrink "Public Enemies" with Ripbot264, and it worked with no problems except it took nearly 24hrs to encode compared to the 6hrs with BDrebuilder. I then used BDrebuilder to shrink the movie that I had shrunk with Ripbot264, and it worked like a charm. Why is DBrebuilder able encode and shrink the file that I had already shrunk with Ripbot264? Do you think it may still be the AnyDVDHD original encoding issue?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Well, RipBot worked, that's getting somewhere. Did you try an earlier build of BDRB?

    I'm starting to think the cause of the problem must be something improbable. Like the last time.

    So I've come to the conclusion:

    You have gremlins in that computer.

    [EDIT] Seriously, it may be a bug in the latest build. Can you give it a try with an earlier version?
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Well, RipBot worked, that's getting somewhere. Did you try an earlier build of BDRB?

    I'm starting to think the cause of the problem must be something improbable. Like the last time.

    So I've come to the conclusion:

    You have gremlins in that computer.

    [EDIT] Seriously, it may be a bug in the latest build. Can you give it a try with an earlier version?
    I tried two earlier versions of BD and same results. I am currently using RipBot and it seems to be working good on "The Hangover". I am beginning to think that maybe the latest upgrade of FFSHOW is causing the problems, but how can I confirm this?
    Quote Quote  
  11. You know, it just might be a bug in the newest version of ffdshow. Look at this thread, particularly the last post:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic377992.html#2039604

    You could uninstall it, get an old version and test. Hey, your log says you're using v.3178, how can that be right, latest is v.3176?
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    So 3178 is not the latest build?....hmmm, interesting. I guess I'll have to check up on that and if it's 3178, I will surely roll back to 3176 to see what happens. Stay tuned for more...brb.
    Quote Quote  
  13. I've backed up both titles in question successfully with bdrb. According to ffdshow I am using version 3058. So, try that version and see if it works.

    Quote Quote  
  14. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    You know, it just might be a bug in the newest version of ffdshow. Look at this thread, particularly the last post:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic377992.html#2039604

    You could uninstall it, get an old version and test. Hey, your log says you're using v.3178, how can that be right, latest is v.3176?
    Confirmed...running 3178. I downloaded that from the "authors site"here http://www.ffdshow.info/.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mrswla
    I've backed up both titles in question successfully with bdrb. According to ffdshow I am using version 3058. So, try that version and see if it works.

    Thanks man... I'll keep you posted on results when I roll back to an earlier version.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    It seems like rolling FFSHOW to an earlier version did not work. I even tried the last two BD releases and I'm still geting the same failure messages. HHmmm....I'm really stumped now because I am able to encode using Ripbot, but I cannot use BDrebuilder. Any other suggestions guys?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Okay, back to square one:

    Do you have the output pointed at a drive/partition with enough free space? Did you run a registry cleaner like CCleaner after uninstalling ffdshow v.3178? Can you think of anything you installed or some other system change since your last successful re-encode?

    How about trying to re-encode a disc you had previously done successfully with BDRB?

    Really grasping at straws now.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  18. Originally Posted by titot4u
    It seems like rolling FFSHOW to an earlier version did not work. I even tried the last two BD releases and I'm still geting the same failure messages. HHmmm....I'm really stumped now because I am able to encode using Ripbot, but I cannot use BDrebuilder. Any other suggestions guys?
    Did you use bdrb ver 31.05 and ffdshow ver3058? Those are the two versions I used on Public Enemies without problems.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Originally Posted by fritzi93
    How about trying to re-encode a disc you had previously done successfully with BDRB?
    Great idea. Try that and report back.
    Quote Quote  
  20. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Try dvdfab decrypter,it was able to copy the land of the lost where as anydvd and BDrebuilder choked on it,i had to select remove hd audio on dvdfab for it to work though.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by johns0
    Try dvdfab decrypter,it was able to copy the land of the lost where as anydvd and BDrebuilder choked on it,i had to select remove hd audio on dvdfab for it to work though.
    I have yet to get dvdfab decrypter to work on a blu ray disc. I had no trouble getting anydvd and bdrb to work on Land Of The Lost.

    [19:03:17] BD Rebuilder v0.30.04 (beta)
    - Source: LAND_OF_THE_LOST
    - Input BD size: 45.61 GB
    - Approximate total content: [04:16:19.664]
    - Target BD size: 24.41 GB
    - Windows Version: 6.1 [7100]
    - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
    [19:03:17] PHASE ONE, Encoding
    - [19:03:17] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00103]
    - [19:03:17] Reencoding: VID_00103 (1 of 29)
    - [19:03:20] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00104]
    - [19:03:20] Reencoding: VID_00104 (2 of 29)
    - [19:03:23] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00105]
    - [19:03:24] Reencoding: VID_00105 (3 of 29)
    - [19:03:26] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00106]
    - [19:03:27] Reencoding: VID_00106 (4 of 29)
    - [19:03:29] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00107]
    - [19:03:30] Reencoding: VID_00107 (5 of 29)
    - [19:03:32] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00108]
    - [19:03:33] Reencoding: VID_00108 (6 of 29)
    - [19:03:35] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00109]
    - [19:03:36] Reencoding: VID_00109 (7 of 29)
    - [19:03:38] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00110]
    - [19:03:39] Reencoding: VID_00110 (8 of 29)
    - [19:03:41] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00111]
    - [19:03:42] Reencoding: VID_00111 (9 of 29)
    - [19:03:44] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00112]
    - [19:03:45] Reencoding: VID_00112 (10 of 29)
    - [19:03:47] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00078]
    - [19:03:51] Reencoding: VID_00078 (11 of 29)
    - [19:04:13] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00061]
    - [19:04:18] Reencoding: VID_00061 (12 of 29)
    - [19:04:43] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00086]
    - [19:04:48] Reencoding: VID_00086 (13 of 29)
    - [19:05:17] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00083]
    - [19:05:23] Reencoding: VID_00083 (14 of 29)
    - [19:06:02] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00062]
    - [19:06:08] Reencoding: VID_00062 (15 of 29)
    - [19:06:40] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00087]
    - [19:06:46] Reencoding: VID_00087 (16 of 29)
    - [19:07:24] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00088]
    - [19:07:31] Reencoding: VID_00088 (17 of 29)
    - [19:08:11] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00090]
    - [19:08:18] Reencoding: VID_00090 (18 of 29)
    - [19:09:07] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00089]
    - [19:09:17] Reencoding: VID_00089 (19 of 29)
    - [19:10:19] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00091]
    - [19:10:30] Reencoding: VID_00091 (20 of 29)
    - [19:11:41] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00082]
    - [19:11:53] Reencoding: VID_00082 (21 of 29)
    - [19:13:13] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00085]
    - [19:13:33] Reencoding: VID_00085 (22 of 29)
    - [19:15:43] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00084]
    - [19:16:05] Reencoding: VID_00084 (23 of 29)
    - [19:18:35] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00092]
    - [19:19:04] Reencoding: VID_00092 (24 of 29)
    - [19:22:00] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00093]
    - [19:22:35] Reencoding: VID_00093 (25 of 29)
    - [19:28:17] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00011]
    - [19:29:13] Reencoding: VID_00011 (26 of 29)
    - [19:38:34] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00095]
    - [19:40:31] Reencoding: VID_00095 (27 of 29)
    - [19:57:55] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00120]
    - [20:04:50] Reencoding: VID_00120 (28 of 29)
    - [21:05:24] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00010]
    - [21:23:14] Reencoding: VID_00010 (29 of 29)
    [22:21:20]PHASE ONE complete
    [22:21:20]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
    - [22:21:20] Rebuilding BD file Structure
    [22:21:51] - Encode and Rebuild complete
    - WORKFILES folder removed.
    [22:21:51]JOB: LAND_OF_THE_LOST finished.
    Quote Quote  
  22. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Some systems work better with one than the other,worth a try.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Okay, back to square one:

    Do you have the output pointed at a drive/partition with enough free space? Did you run a registry cleaner like CCleaner after uninstalling ffdshow v.3178? Can you think of anything you installed or some other system change since your last successful re-encode?

    How about trying to re-encode a disc you had previously done successfully with BDRB?

    Really grasping at straws now.
    This is getting frustrating now ....I cleaned the PC with CCcleaner and I deleted FFSHOW 3178 and installed older version 3058, and I installed BD 3105 and I'm still getting the same failure messages. Why is Ripbot working and not BD? I guess it can't be the FFSHOW, right?
    Quote Quote  
  24. Tried one yet that worked before?

    Checked your filter merit?

    https://www.videohelp.com/tools/Filmerit
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fritzi93
    Tried one yet that worked before?

    Checked your filter merit?

    https://www.videohelp.com/tools/Filmerit
    I don't have a backup of prior videos on hand any longer, but Mrswla above claimed to have backed up the same movies I am having difficulties with BD, so I am assuming there is an issue with something on my PC. I am going to try the Filmerit as soon as I get home from work today and worse case scenerio, I will delete Halli media splitter, avisynth and FFSHOW, and reinstall it all from scratch and see if it will help any.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Ok guys....I resolved the problem and BD is finally working again.

    The first thing I did was run "filmerit" and it found 6 errors on FFSHOW. I had filmerit correct the errors, but I was still getting failure when using BD.

    What I did to correct the problem was delete Hailli media splitter, avisynth and FFSHOW. I reinstalled each one with a soft reboot in-between and PRESTO!...all is working perfect again.

    Running:
    Haali media splitter 1.9.42.1
    AviSynth 2.5
    FFDSHOW 3176
    BDrebuilder 3106

    Thank you very much for helping me guys. All the help on the subject was very much appreciated....!

    Even though it was a huge headache trying to figure out this dilema, it was a lesson learned because I was forced to learn how to use Ripbot264 as a secondary tool for backing up my blurays.

    Happy New Years.

    Regards,

    Titot4u
    Quote Quote  
  27. Originally Posted by titot4u
    Ok guys....I resolved the problem and BD is finally working again.
    That's good. Glad to hear you were able to correct the problem.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Thanks, all this will be useful for for diagnosing future problems. The next time there's a similar question, we'll have specific suggestions.

    I still think you got gremlins. You've had some unusual troubles.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member titot4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Its possible I have gremlins in there somewhere. Would you consider an EXORCISM?

    Thanks again guys, I'm sure it won't be the last time I'll be needing your assistance.

    titot4u
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    What I did to correct the problem was delete Hailli media splitter, avisynth and FFSHOW. I reinstalled each one with a soft reboot in-between and PRESTO!...all is working perfect again.

    Running:
    Haali media splitter 1.9.42.1
    AviSynth 2.5
    FFDSHOW 3176
    BDrebuilder 3106
    I'm having the same problem and all I did was update ffdshow. I will try the suggestion above.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads