VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, I am looking for some help removing high pitch “ssss” whistle sounds from my audio clip? I have tried many things so far but I am new to audio editing and need some guidance. I have about 80 clips with 160 minutes of audio. I need to get this problem fixed ASAP. I am willing to pay $50 to any one that can give me clear directions as how to remove this high pitch whistle “sss” sound.
    So far I have tried de-esser in the following programs without much success:
    Adobe Audition
    Adobe Sound Booth
    ProTools.
    I have also tried to copy “s” without the whistle to replace the bad “s” but this does not sound natural.
    I have tried fadeouts on the “s” sounds but it keeps the high pitch whistle.
    I have tried amplitude reduction on the “s” sounds but it keeps the high pitch whistle.
    And I have tried some mixing and matching of all the above without much look.
    I can improve the sound but not completely remove it.

m7s10.take3.wav
    Quote Quote  
  2. Right Click on the m7s10.take3.wav link above and select "save target as" to download a clip. Note the words "goals", "LifeGoals", "objectives", "Tasks" "activities", "timlines".
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I've been restoring audio for 15+ years now, digitally.
    While I have a lot of posts here at Videohelp on the topic, there are quite a few more here:
    - http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/forumdisplay.php/restore-filter-improve-17.html
    - http://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/video/index-restore.htm

I'll look at your file.

UPDATE: Sorry, but that can't be fixed. The person reading is the problem, she hisses and whistles when she speaks, holding on to plural letters like a snake. Software can't correct that, it needs to be done up front, both with a person that is trained to speak, as well as with a better microphone at an optimal speaking distance. The recorder sounds like its gain is too high, too -- cooking the audio a bit.