VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab Passkey and copy Blu-ray and DVDs! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 47
Thread
  1. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    How could I convert MP3 or FLAC files into AC3 and what soft are necessary ??
    Quote Quote  
  2. For example...
    ... can use foobar2000 and Aften encoder.


    Or FFmpeg (possibly with some GUI), (after decode to WAV PCM) ac3enc from AC3Filter Tools, (after decode to WAV PCM - also can use Avisynth script) WAV to AC3 Encoder, BeHappy.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Moving you to our audio section as I don't see what this has to do with any blu-ray.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I thought that this topic is connected with Megui , i.e. Blu-ray , a.s.o.
    10x anyway !!!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I must REPEAT my first question :

    What soft are necessary to convert WAV , MP3 or FLAC files into AC3 ???

    All the above specified softs DO NOT PROPERLY WORK and gave much , too much errors...

    There is any professional softs for this kinf of audio conversion ???
    Quote Quote  
  6. eac3to, or avisynth + soundout are free other options

    What errors did you get with the other software? It might be issues with your source file
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray
    eac3to, or avisynth + soundout
    soundout ??? namely :......????
    except Nero 7 or Nero Hd Blu ray

    Does it be so hard, bro , to give full explanation, if you just started ???
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I found a little soft : WAV to AC3 Encoder , but do not works ( gave me errors , i.e. the resulted files are empty..
    What kind of settings are necessary ???
    Quote Quote  
  9. What is source audio format?
    Sampling rate is 48000 Hz?

    What is purpose of conversion?


    BTW
    In foobar2000 when convert can add DSP (Processing) and can change sampling rate used Resampler filter.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    @Placio74

    Simply , I have a .wav file of 3,4 GB and I want to reduce its size at maximum and make it ac3 file.

    About foobar 2000 I'm very dissapointed because I can't setted to convert

    it is just a player , no matter how many other pluggins I installed (

    I really do not know to set it as converter(
    Quote Quote  
  11. Download Aften encoder and unpack to some folder.

    File > Preferences
    Tools > Converter
    Add New > Custom

    Select a location of encoder,
    set extension as ac3,
    parameters example:
    Code:
    -b 448 -readtoeof 1 -dynrng 1 -v 0 - %d
    complete display info.
    (-b 448 it's just bitrate - can set other.)

    Add file in player,
    right mouse button (context menu) on file,
    Convert..., choose (previously created) output format,
    if want resample, go to Processing tab, turn on DSP, add Resampler, set 48000 Hz in configuration,
    finally click OK.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    @Placio74

    Many thanks...I already had Aften but I didn't know to set it...

    There is another problem , a little one : what about that < lame.exe> ??

    I don't know where to place it or to find it or how to set it....also , It seems that didn't setted for AC3 , but for mp3 and I do not want mp3...
    Quote Quote  
  13. If you wanted to use eac3to, it's a simple 1 commandline:

    eac3to input.wav output.ac3

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Eac3to/How_to_Use

    There is a gui to use it, but you have to set it up properly





    For avisynth, you would input your source filter, and just type soundout(). When you open the script in a media player or avsp it will give you encoding options. You need avisynth installed and soundout in your plugins directory

    The script is just a notepad text file. You save it and rename the extension to .avs.

    e.g.
    WAVSource("myaudio.wav")
    Soundout()




    For foobar 2k, just right click and select convert
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by Benjy
    There is another problem , a little one : what about that < lame.exe> ??
    Just click on ... button and select location of encoder.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I see...that is the problem (
    In my folder where is foobar 2000 and should be that < lame.exe> , this is...absent
    I haven't it (
    Maybe the soft I find and installed was incomplete(

    No problem I will give up ,coz is too difficult for me , and everybody explain to me briefly ,like I 'll be an expert....

    I found out on webs half a day and all I found was that stupid soft which seems to be incomplete (

    Thanks anyway for your help !!

    PS I think this foobar 2000 is not good for what I need : I want a file of 1,5 GB , format .wav to convert to a little one , format ac3...that's all...this foobar converts to mp3 , which is totally different
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by Benjy
    I see...that is the problem (
    In my folder where is foobar 2000 and should be that < lame.exe> , this is...absent
    I haven't it (
    Maybe the soft I find and installed was incomplete(
    Wrong.
    Look again at screenshots (just download and set other encoder - Aften for AC3)
    foobar2000 does not contain any encoders (need download them separately), but has several predefined profiles - also user can make new own (custom) profiles.


    Try WinFF (FFmpeg GUI).
    Convert To... = Audio
    Device Preset = Ac3 DVD
    Also can click at Options and set own bitrate...
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    @ Placio74

    Asd I told you I'm a noobye , I don't know what bitrate to set and so on..
    can you show me , for exemple ???
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I'm back...unfortunatelly I installed ALL soft you have recomanded me , but there is NO such a < lame.exe> and NO possibility to convert from .wav to .ac3...

    Are you really good at this problem or talk by the ear and laugh with me???
    Are you joking with me ?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Originally Posted by Benjy
    Asd I told you I'm a noobye , I don't know what bitrate to set and so on..
    can you show me , for exemple ???
    Lower bitrate = worse quality but smaller file.
    Higher bitrate = better quality but larger files.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bit_rate#Bitrates_in_multimedia

    If you still want to try with foobar2000...
    Download Aften encoder from here or here or here.
    Unpack to some folder and when create new custom profile select path to aften.exe file.
    If aften.exe file is in foobar2000 folder, enough just type aften.exe instead whole path.

    Do you really tried to use WinFF?
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Now I tried winff....it requires any supplementary settings or patches ???
    'coz gaves me errors...
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by Benjy
    Now I tried winff....it requires any supplementary settings or patches ???
    No.

    Originally Posted by Benjy
    'coz gaves me errors...
    Specifically what errors?

    What are characteristics of source audio file?
    Use MediaInfo, export info to text file, show here content.
    Can play source audio file?


    BTW
    Initial question was: "How could I convert MP3 or FLAC files into AC3 and what soft are necessary?".
    However, later you said about WAV file...
    Why not convert directly - MP3>AC3 or FLAC>AC3?
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Format : Wave
    File size : 3.93 GiB
    Duration : 1h 1mn
    Overall bit rate : 9 216 Kbps

    Audio
    Format : PCM
    Codec ID : FFFE
    Codec ID/Info : Extensible
    Duration : 1h 1mn
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 9 216 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 8 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L, C, R, Middle: L, R, Surround: L, R, LFE
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Resolution : 24 bits
    Stream size : 3.93 GiB (100%)



    PS Sorry ,it was my mistake regarding that mp3...wav to ac3 is true...
    Quote Quote  
  23. Uh... 8 channels. It's problematic - need downmix. Unfortunately, it's rather not easy.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    It's not necessary 8 channels , just 2 if it is possible...

    My great problem is to resize it from 3,9 GB to a " human " size , let's say about 300 Mb....
    This is an audio track from a movie , I have split it , mean time I encoded that movie from 1980 to 1280 and now I want to menage audio track , but as you can see , now the audio track is bigger than the whole movie )
    Quote Quote  
  25. Try BeHappy...

    - install Avisynth
    - download and unpack BeHappy
    - download Aften and copy aften.exe to encoder subfolder in BeHappy

    - choose Avisynth plugin to use - WavSource, RaWav or DirectShowSource
    - choose source audio file
    - set Downmix
    - choose destination and encoder (can change configuration)
    - click on Enqueue button
    - go to Queue tab and click Start button




    BTW
    foobar2000 - does not support decoding 8 channel WAV files
    FFmpeg - can't downmix (8 channels is not accepted for ordinary AC-3 audio)
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    ok
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I think , after many tryings , I solved smth , but not too much..
    Here is the error it gave me :

    BeHappy.AviSynthException: Import: unable to read "C:\Documents and Settings\EMPEROR\Desktop\sound.wav"
    at BeHappy.AviSynthClip..ctor(String func, String arg, AviSynthColorspace forceColorspace, AviSynthScriptEnvironment env)
    at BeHappy.Encoder.encode()

    What does it means ???
    Quote Quote  
  28. Odd... maybe move file to other folder.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    which one...the original or the resulted one ???
    I think is a problem of settings...coz the second time , it gave me another kind of error after I modified some settings....
    Unfortunatelly I do not know how to set it normally and correct (

    what you've showed me above is not enough....
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member Benjy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Here is few screenshots...



    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads