VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    First time I captured a Digital8 video with DV interface, I thought the quality was horrible.
    I opened a topic and users suggested me too deinterlace ( I found out about interlacing and just burn too DVD without Deinterlace), The DVD has progessive scan.

    Now I captured VHS tapes with the same method (firewire passtrough) and I see lots of horizontal lines, I though the DVD player would remove them, but no. Here are screenshots of the video.



    vlcsnap-2009-11-01-13h54m48s78.png

    vlcsnap-2009-11-01-13h55m03s247.png

    vlcsnap-2009-11-01-13h56m54s79.png

    Is this another type of interlacing or is it just a bad capture?
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  2. The herringbone artifacts are not interlace related. Could you post a short segment of the original DV AVI cap?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I capture Digital 8 all the time direct with Firewire or through a DV device and don't have problems. Sometimes I go through a Panasonic switcher using S-Video and the output goes into a box that is connected via Firewire to the computer. And that has no problems either. I see similar to what you have when I have a bad ground or connection.
    Quote Quote  
  5. That is definitely not an interlace problem (although the video is interlaced). I think you have some kind of high frequency analog noise between your setup. Try plugging everything in to the same power strip when capturing. Or record from the VHS onto tape without the firewire cable connected to the computer (the likely source of the high frequency noise). Then connect the firewire cable and capture from tape to the computer.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    I captured everything with an different powerstrip (VCR and Camcorder connected on another powerstrip). Maybe that was the cause.

    One other thing is, maybe it was the S-video cable?
    Cause it isn't a S-VHS VCR, I used this



    I will test it now and let you guys know.
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    I've done test results, I think the S video cable was causing the problem.

    First (with S video)
    vlcsnap-2009-11-01-16h06m15s27.png

    Second (with RCA)
    vlcsnap-2009-11-01-16h06m02s150.png

    The second one is now interlaced and there arent horizontal lines so far I see, If you want I can upload a sample.
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  8. If your VCR doesn't have s-video out you should use composite from the VCR to camcorder. Cheap composite to s-video converters produce poor s-video output with interference between the chroma and luma channels. The camcorder will probably do a much better job with the direct composite signal.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Kimco and Jagoba, the problem is solved. If I see in the futher problem I will let it know.

    One more question, I wont use S video on that block but connect the RCA on that, that shouldn't be a problem right?

    Or is direct RCA out better like this,



    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  10. There's probably not much difference between composite on the SCART connector and a direct composite output from the VCR. But, are those ports on the front inputs or outputs?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    To be honest I've never tested those, cause I though the ports on the back where the best outputs (my logic, cables on the front don't look good for permemant use). But it's probaly input, cause on anther VCR I've it's input.

    But if RCA isn't a problem on that block I use that. I was
    curious of a scart converter would make quality worse.
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote  
  12. FYI,

    I had the EXACT same issue a few years ago. Was using a composite->S-Video cable with a Hi8 camcorder going through a Panasonic DVX so I could do native DV.

    Switched composite cable out, problems went away...
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Abas-Avara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Azerbaijan
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by churchie04
    FYI,

    I had the EXACT same issue a few years ago. Was using a composite->S-Video cable with a Hi8 camcorder going through a Panasonic DVX so I could do native DV.

    Switched composite cable out, problems went away...
    There should be a warning for this on the guides, I've never seen it.

    before I sarted with everything I tested RCA and S-video I thought those lines were normal (interlacing) and looked sharper so I used S-Video . I hope the quality of some VHS tapes won't degree, cause some I've played several times to capture...
    The flag once raised will never fall!
    Quote Quote