VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there,

Im new to all this so I have no idea about particular software or technical terms - ooops

I want to create a menu at the beginning of my DVD. An option to play the movie and another to ldirectly ink to a word document which has important information about the movie.

I would like Options such as : Play Movie
    or
    Read Info

If I can do this for free it would be great and if anybody could possibly give me any (simple) advice on how to build this menu I would be grateful.

Thank you
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You won't be able to do it as a word doc, that is not part of the dvd spec.

You can take the text and put it in a still menu frame but a word document won't fly on a regular dvd.

See "WHAT IS" DVD on the upper left-hand corner for more details. Read, Search and Study.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Think about it: no DVD player has Microsoft Word loaded into it. It won't display .doc files. Like driguy suggested, your text will need to be displayed on a DVD-compatible still image.

Check out this thread:

https://forum.videohelp.com/topic353796.html
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks to you both for your replies - this makes sense.

The dvd is ideally meant to be played through a computer- hence why i thought the option which linked to word document could maybe automatically close down the dvd player and open up Microsoft word instead?

Still impossible?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    p.s thanks for the link to the other thread- just having a look through it now
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    YES YOU CAN!!!

This kind of DVD is what's known as an "Enhanced" DVD (sometimes called "Hybrid", but that's better left for other times...)

This means, on a standard settop, is plays like normal DVD-Videos, and the link is non-functioning.
    On a PC, it allows for the live link.