VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, newbie here! Please have a little patience with me for at least my first 2 or three posts. Search is not helping me much, but it may be that I just don't know what to look for yet.
    I picked up a Hauppauge HD PVR in the hope that I could use it with my laptop to play my console in HD when traveling (since I can't remember the last time I saw an HDTV in a hotel). But the nearly 2 seconds of lag is making the unit pretty much worthless for that purpose.
    I am trying to determine if the lag is inherent to the hardware3 and I should return the box, or something I can solve by using graphedit to use different filters.
    If the lag is due to the need to use the arcsoft demux, is there another filter I can use to display the h.264 stream?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The hauppauge hd pvr is not for playback. It is mainly for capturing. The passthrough is to see the recording while it is playing.

You need a proper video card with component outputs (usually a dongle adapter out of the svideo jack). That will play the video the way it was meant to.

If this is isn't what you mean please be more specific on what problems you have. Playback alone should be done from the computer.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You have misunderstood my question. So here is the entire story in excruciating detail.

I travel for work, these are not short trips either. I usally end up staying in a hotel set up for long term stays. I have never once seen one with an HDTV, and they have all been 4x3 aspect ratio.
    In fact, most only have a coaxial RF input. So the best they can manage is something that resembles 480i