VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Whenever I need to convert an mkv file onto a DVD, after some frustrating results, I do this:

    1) Demux the file with MKVextractGUI.

    2) Load the H264 file on DGAVCIndex and make a dga project.

    3) Write a script, loading that dga script and all necessary filters.

    4) Check the script on AvsP.

    5) Load that scritp on HCEnc and convert the files onto m2v.

    This method has been quite foolproof until now. Instead of loading with directshowsource I use avcsource.

    But something unusual happened yesterday: the script checked fine on AvsP, but the converted file ended up with a thin green line all along the bottom border of the anamorphic image.

    I don't understand two things:

    1) What might be happening?

    2) Why doesn't it show in AvsP?

    Now, if I load the mkv file with directshowsource and just resize it to 720x480, I get a correctly sized image with borders up and below, and no green line. Yes, or course, then why just don't convert it like that and let it be? Perhaps because I want to understand a bit on what might be happening.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by carlmart
    the converted file ended up with a thin green line all along the bottom border
    What frame size was the converted file? Was your source 1088 lines?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Originally Posted by carlmart
    the converted file ended up with a thin green line all along the bottom border
    What frame size was the converted file? Was your source 1088 lines?
    The original file was 1280:542, 23.976fps. It is 720p, AFAIK.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Your h.264 decoder probably doesn't like the 542 pixel height (mod2) of the source. Try a different h.264 decoder.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Your h.264 decoder probably doesn't like the 542 pixel height (mod2) of the source. Try a different h.264 decoder.
    OK. First: how do I know which is my h264 decoder? Second: which one should I install?

    From Gspot I could only find out that my codec is: H.264/AVC

    But I think that is too generic.

    In my directory I also have Mainconcept H.264/AVC Encoder V2. So maybe that's it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. DGAVCIndex is based on an old version of libavcodec. You cannot change the decoder when using this.

    If DirectShowSource() works, it's using whatever decoder you currently have set as preferred. To change it you would change the merit of other decoders higher or lower
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray
    DGAVCIndex is based on an old version of libavcodec. You cannot change the decoder when using this.

    If DirectShowSource() works, it's using whatever decoder you currently have set as preferred. To change it you would change the merit of other decoders higher or lower
    So basically I should just let things as they are. If DSS worked then good for me. Let's hope I don't find myself in a situation where DSS caused other problems or I would basically be f***** up, being gross about it.
    Quote Quote  
  8. When using AvcSource() you should be able to trim() the green lines off the bottom of the frame.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by jagabo
    When using AvcSource() you should be able to trim() the green lines off the bottom of the frame.
    But what's weird is carlmart claims that the green lines are not present in AvsP preview...

    Maybe carlmart, can you post a tiny sample of the source?

    If you want to know what your current directshow decoder is, render the file in graphstudio
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    When using AvcSource() you should be able to trim() the green lines off the bottom of the frame.
    I tried to do that with addborders(), but HCEnc rejected, probably because I didn't adjust the resize accordingly. The question is that I didn't want to resize it, but to trim the green line away.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray
    But what's weird is carlmart claims that the green lines are not present in AvsP preview...
    Exactly, that's the werdiest thing of all.

    Maybe carlmart, can you post a tiny sample of the source?
    What should I used to trim a tiny sample from an mkv file?

    If you want to know what your current directshow decoder is, render the file in graphstudio
    OK.
    Quote Quote  
  12. You can cut a sample from a mkv using mkvtoolnix. Under the global tab, there is a splitting function. Please post the avs script you used as well
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    The file is here:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=baad3af1c8fb5a28d6baebe61b361f7cfadbed69258662dbb8eada0a1ae8665a

    The script I tried to use and got me the green line was:

    AVCSource("d:\file.dga")
    spline36resize(720,360)
    addborders(0,60,0,60)
    Quote Quote  
  14. The green line is present in AvsP for me using that script, it's present in most frames, but not every frame. It's probably what jagabo said above; the non standard dimension is giving AVCIndex difficulty
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    OK. Thanks.

    DSS did it for me on this case. Let's hope I do not find other cases like this.
    Quote Quote  
  16. It's even present with just AVCSource() , without the resize, or borders

    You can probably predict which would have problems; likely the videos with non mod16 dimensions

    I don't understand why you didn't see that in the preview, maybe you just looked at frame 0.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by jagabo
    When using AvcSource() you should be able to trim() the green lines off the bottom of the frame.
    Oops, I should have said you can Crop() the green line off the bottom. Tested with the sample:

    AvcSource("video.dga")
    Crop(0,0,-0,-2)

    Follow that with your resize and addborders.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray
    It's even present with just AVCSource() , without the resize, or borders

    You can probably predict which would have problems; likely the videos with non mod16 dimensions

    I don't understand why you didn't see that in the preview, maybe you just looked at frame 0.
    It didn't show for me in AvsP, and I tried it on several frames, of course. Weird.

    What my options to deal with such a file?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Oops, I should have said you can Crop() the green line off the bottom. Tested with the sample:

    AvcSource("video.dga")
    Crop(0,0,-0,-2)

    Follow that with your resize and addborders.

    I am not too interested in cropping an image. Much better to try a different way.
    Quote Quote  
  20. OK, if you don't want to crop it (?), then try the Letterbox command:

    Letterbox(0,2)

    which will just replace the bottom 2 rows of pixels with black.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manono
    OK, if you don't want to crop it (?), then try the Letterbox command:

    Letterbox(0,2)

    which will just replace the bottom 2 rows of pixels with black.
    Oh, no. Sorry. I think the crop() command is great, and thank you for suggesting it.

    What I meant is that cropping the original image is something I do not want to do if I have any other option.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Losing two scan lines out of 542 is not worth worrying about. Especially since it is going to be resized down to 360 scanlines for DVD.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!