VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I want to convert my HD DV tapes to a file that I can play on TiVo.
    What format can I convert them to so I preserve the quality of HD and still have reasonable file sizes.
    I am not a total novice adn have done SD DV to DVD conversions and such but I have no idea what file format would preserve the HD quality AND if that file format is playable on TiVo HD. Please help.

Regards
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    so you want to know what file formats Tivo supports?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I like to know what file formats TiVo can playback that are of HD resolution. And what tools I can use to convert my HD DV tape to that format.
    TiVO HD still rocks.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What's an HD DV Tape.........or do you mean HDV recorded onto a mini-dv tape?

I don't own a Tivo........but assuming it can record HD content, it should have an HDMI input. Just hook up your HDV camera to it via HDMI and record directly to it. Otherwise you can maybe export a Tivo file and analyze it....?
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  5. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    I don't own Tivo, but this link might be useful to your purpose.
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/galleon/

Of course I could be wrong, but I find it highly dubious that Tivo would allow recording via HDMI input. The whole purpose of HDMI was to COMPLETELY defeat any ability to record anything, ever. Hollywood would absolutely and completely flip the #@#$% out if Tivo allowed recording via HDMI input.

I just took a quick look at Tivo's current DVR product lines and the ONLY inputs allowed are the following:
    The standard def Tivo allows input from composite video, S-video and coax cable.
    The high def Tivo allows input from coax cable or coax antenna. That's it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member