VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Im new at this and have read a lot of threads on this but am still unsure how to proceed. I want to convert VHS home and Disney movies to my PC then burn DVD. Here's some info:

Computer: HP Pavillion desktop m9040n with Windows Vista Home Premium
    Processor: Intel 2Quad core 2.4GHZ
    Ram: 3GB
    Hard drives: 2 300GB drives
    DVD Lightscribe burner
    Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1800 tuner card

Memorex vcr, new
    Dimax-Grex stabilizer

If I play the tapes on the vcr thru the Grex then into the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1800 tuner card, what type of program do I need to capture the video and store to Hard drive and burn to DVD? Will something like Sony Vegas Movie Studio 9 Platinum do the job or what other programs are suggested.

Also, do I need an external capture device or is the Hauppage tuner card the same thing. Thanks in advance for any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Any help out there would be greatly appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    all hauppauge cards cpome with capturing software called wintv. if you didnt get it then download it from the website. sony vegas is not worth it.
    you'll need an authoring piece of software. i use these...
    http://www.pegasys-inc.com/en/index.html
    they work great
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by EJ8
    Im new at this and have read a lot of threads on this but am still unsure how to proceed. I want to convert VHS home and Disney movies to my PC then burn DVD. Here's some info: