VideoHelp Forum
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi.

I'm having trouble reinstalling the ffmpegX program after I removed it a few days ago. Here are the steps which I took and the result of it. I have a 1.25 GHz PowerPC G4 with Mac OSX 10.5.7, a 74.4 GB HD, and 768 MB of RAM.

*Please note that I'm totally new with video and audio file formats and have no knowledge on coding. When I first installed ffmpegX on the same computer mentioned above, everything went well but not on my second install.

STEP 1: Deleting ffmpegX after 1st time install

I used Apple Cleaner to delete the program. Here are the results on what was removed:

The application "ffmpegX version 0.0.9y" and "all accompanying documents" (ReadMe.rtf, LisezMoi.rtf, Leggimi.rtf, Credits.rtf, ffmpegX manual.webloc) that came with the original ffmpegX.dmg which I downloaded from ffmpegX site. These items where in a folder called ffmpegX in my application folder.

The preference file "com.mac.homepage.major4.ffmpegX.plist"
    This came from the ~/Library/Preferences.

A folder called ffmpegX that resided in /Library/Application Support/
    The contents were these Unix executable files: mencoder, mpeg2enc, mplayer

I made sure I deleted the files in the trash bin and restarted the computer.

STEP 2: Reinstalled ffmpegX version 0.0.9y

I downloaded a new ffmpegX.dmg file from the ffmpegX site making sure it was version 0.0.9y
    When the the disk image was decompressed, I copied its contents (ffmpegX application and accompanying documents) in a new folder called ffmpeg X in my applications folder.

I then went back to the site and read the manual on what else to download. It instructed me to download the binaries mencoder, mplayer, and mpeg2enc.intel (ctrl-clicked the link given) from the links provided. All was downloaded to my desktop.

STEP 3: Finish reinstallation