VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Although computer literate, I'm new to video editing, have started to use Avidemux to synchronise audio, after capturing vhs tapes to hdd in avi format using Arcsoft Showbiz2 together with Leadtek VC100U video editor. Having managed to synchronise ok, am finding it confusing to Save the edited video. Have tried to do so in video/audio COPY mode, but only part of the total footage is saved properly, however 17 additional files were created with the same file name/ext(ie .avi01 - avi17) but with the usual icon indication that Windows doesn't recognise it(see attached gif image). I then tried saving the edited file in dvd(lavc) & dvd(mpeg2enc) but that didn't work either.
    I would be grateful for some basic info, since I'm only likely to want to capture vhs to hdd in avi, edit audio sync/further edit in Showbiz2 & burn to dvd.
    Any help will be appreciated, thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    First "AVI" is non descriptive. It is a container not a codec. Do you mean DV.AVI or uncompressed or divx? Or other?

Most edit programs allow marking a start and end point on the timeline for encoding. For DVD you would encode to MPeg2.

Rather than exporting one long file, you can export encoded clips (called assets) and assemble them in your DVD authoring program.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by edDV
    First "AVI" is non descriptive. It is a container not a codec. Do you mean DV.AVI or uncompressed or divx? Or other?

Most edit programs allow marking a start and end point on the timeline for encoding. For DVD you would encode to MPeg2.

Rather than exporting one long file, you can export encoded clips (called assets) and assemble them in your DVD authoring program.