VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Im a total noob when it comes to media centers but id like to know more about it and i have some questions. I currently have brighthouse HD cable with a DVR box for my TV If i installed a TV tuner card would i still need the DVR box to get all my channels or would that be eliminated how does this work? My LCD TV is better than my computer monitor now if i had a tv card in the PC would i beable to switch to my big TV and use it for both TV and gaming again how does this work?

thanks in advance for any info provided
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Depends on what you are trying to watch. A basic tuner card will typically only receive/decode the basic analog channels. Most newer cards also have a QAM tuner, which will allow the reception of digital channels. Premium channels require the use of a tuner which will accept a cable card (not sure if there are any on the market) or an external cable box to descramble.

Depends on your TV. You will need a PC/VGA input or an available DVI/HDMI input on the TV and a second VGA/DVI output on your video card. You can then simply connect the PC to your TV.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    evile, in the future please use a more descriptive subject title in your posts to allow others to search for similar topics. I will change yours this time. From our rules:
    Try to choose a subject that describes your topic.
    Please do not use topic subjects like Help me!!! or Problems.
    Thanks,
    Moderator redwudz

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote