VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi everyone

I have a true nightmare going. Firstly, I'm a newbie, but that primarily goes for stuff like codecs, bitrates, fps and interleave. I'm a programmer (.NET / MSSQL) by trade, avid photographer in spare time and proficient in both programming and assembling my computer from purchased parts. But this I don't get and it has been bugging me ever since I purchased my video camera which is a Sony HDR-HC1E filming @ 1080i.

Anyway, currently I am working on some footage from a recent skiing trip, where the said footage consists of my own material and two other compact cameras filming @ 720p and 640x480, none of which I guess matters.

I have created a clip in premiere pro 2 about 10min long and the whole issue is what to do to export it in good quality and reasonable size ( < 500MB ). I must have made 50 attempts so far and I'm not even close to success. There's just so many options, dialogs, settings...I feel totally lost. Earlier I made a separate series of attempts using Media Encoder in Premiere, and after that didn't fly, I have now moved over to Export Movie and choosing a codec there. I have tried both DivX (v 6.8.3) and ffdshow (rev 1723) numerous times and either I have < 500MB with video quality that is total crap, or I have > 2GB of something resembling acceptable quality.

To make things worse, I use GSpot to check the encoding of produced files and compare them to some downloaded DivX encoded files. From what I have been able to gather, bitrate is by far most important factor for the quality and size. Still, other DivX movies perform excellent at < 1000 kbps @ 25fps, while I get crappy results @ 5000 kbps, 30 fps.