VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Does anyone know what to do to maintain the video quality when transferring raw digital video to DVD? I shoot with a Canon XL-1s and the video looks fantastic before I put it to DVD. 1 hour of digital video though is around 12 gigs. I've tried many ways to compress it to fit on a DVD, but every time I do it looks horrible, nothing like the original. I've seen a lot of low budget/homemade films in the 1-2 hour range that were put on DVD and they still look great. Is this something that requires a specific software to do, or does it need to be encoded a certain way? I'm still learning how to author DVD's obviously, just can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Video "quality" encompasses a lot of different things. What exactly is wrong with the DVDs you make? Brightness/contrast issues? Color shifts? Jerky video? Blocky artifacts? What software have you tried already?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM