VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I just bought a DVD movie and found out (lately) that my DVD player cannot read the disc, I 've checked the file on my computer and it was a *.vob file extension. Is there any DVD player in the market that supports this format? Computer newbie here..
    Quote Quote  
  2. If the DVD only has a single .vob file and no .ifo files, then you will only be able to play it on a computer. The DVD standard is .vob containers that have mpg2 video, various audio formats, and subtitles. The playback is directed by .ifo files and in case of error .bup files. If your DVD does not have the ifo/bup files then I don't know of any DVD player that will play them, however, assuming the .vob file is valid, you should be able to re-author it to full spec. I wouldn't buy from that seller again.
    "Shut up Wesley!" -- Captain Jean-Luc Picard
    Buy My Books
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gadgetguy
    If the DVD only has a single .vob file and no .ifo files, then you will only be able to play it on a computer. The DVD standard is .vob containers that have mpg2 video, various audio formats, and subtitles. The playback is directed by .ifo files and in case of error .bup files. If your DVD does not have the ifo/bup files then I don't know of any DVD player that will play them, however, assuming the .vob file is valid, you should be able to re-author it to full spec. I wouldn't buy from that seller again.
    All the files you;ve mentioned are all there, and I'd even tried in my computer and nothing came out but message that I need a mpeg 2 codec. But Im real interested if theres a way to play it on a DVD player (stand alone)
    Quote Quote