VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello everyone! I recently purchased a 37" Sony BRAVIA KDL-37XBR6 with the goal of having a pc monitor/tv in an all-in-one package experience. I bought a DVI to HDMI cable as well. My video card is a Radeon 4870 X2, and supports the TV native resolution: 1920 x 1080. The problem I am having is that text is slightly fuzzy. The whole desktop has slight blurring as well(icons slightly out of focus). I have tried many settings the Sony tech support suggested to me, but the text is still slight fuzzy tone. I'm no expert, but I tried to compile a list of issues to help troubleshoot. Some observations I have noticed:

1. In the CCC settings for my ATI card, the over/under scan settings portion is greyed out.

2. Settings for display for Sony Bravia are at full pixel, which according to sony tech support, eliminates overscan.

3. The 1920x1080 resolution displays blurry text for internet web browsing, and in games such as Left 4 Dead/CoD 4 red/blue colored text looks fuzzy at that resolution. There is a black border around the tv approximately 1 inch wide. The games themselves, looked fairly good though.

4. Adjusting the resolution via CCC panel to "1700X1000" (something very close to that since im not sure of exact resolution at the moment) made the image more clear. It's almost as good as a LCD monitor, however the desktop icons and the like are bigger now. I am not sure why this is the case.

5. I only have a DVI to HDMI adapter at the moment. I am willing to buy a DVI to VGA one if that is the only way to solve this issue. However, I thought VGA would limit me to 1360x768 resolution, not the 1920X1080.

6. I paid around 1300.00 dollars for this tv at a local Best Buy. I have around 21 days to return it for a refund if you guys think I made a bad tv purchase decision.

Any help to get a clear, crisp desktop/internet text image on this tv would be greatly appreciated.

Search Comp PM