VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I have a Pioneer HDD recorder that works great, but of course, I can't record the hi-def digital channels. I'd like to do that, but I don't want the monthly fee of a Tivo-like unit. I have cable, but just the basic service. There don't seem to be a lot of units out there unless you pay a monthly fee. Anyone know of one?

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by adagio
    I have a Pioneer HDD recorder that works great, but of course, I can't record the hi-def digital channels. I'd like to do that, but I don't want the monthly fee of a Tivo-like unit. I have cable, but just the basic service. There don't seem to be a lot of units out there unless you pay a monthly fee. Anyone know of one?

    Thanks.
    How are you getting HD? From a QAM TV tuner or cable box?

    If cable box, see here.
    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html
    It doesn't have a tuner.

    I just record off the cable box IEEE-1394port.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the link. It looks interesting.

    I don't have a cable box, just cable, so I think I need a tuner too.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by adagio
    Thanks for the link. It looks interesting.

    I don't have a cable box, just cable, so I think I need a tuner too.
    So you don't get HD then?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, I get HD on my digital TV, but not on my recorder of course, which is what I want to replace. Basic cable has the digital channels, just no premium channels like HBO, etc.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by adagio
    Yes, I get HD on my digital TV, but not on my recorder of course, which is what I want to replace. Basic cable has the digital channels, just no premium channels like HBO, etc.
    Then you need both a HD QAM tuner ~ Samsung DTB-H260F $149 plus the device above $225 plus a computer.

    Or a QAM PCI tuner in a PC with PVR software.

    Or you can rent the HD-PVR tuner from your cable provider. Most do this.

    PS: In case you are wondering, QAM tuner HDTV sets can tune HD local channels but they can't output HD signals for recording.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads