VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am not a novice to video transfers, but neither am I a professional.

I am about to really take it to a WNL (Whole 'Nother Level), though.

I have two different tasks before me and both are daunting. One is to convert and enhance about 80 hours of concert footage (recorded at SLP on a consumer HiFi vcr). The other is an ungodly amount of High School Football footage which was obviously recorded by rank amateurs on sub par equipment under less than ideal conditions. Some of these video tapes date back to 1980.

I just want the best possible output with the least post-capture work. The "customers" are not as interested in the restoration aspect as I am. Almost any final result will satisfy them, but I think this would be a great opportunity to learn.

I have budget enough (i think.....about $1000) to buy the Panasonic AG-1980P, Datavideo TBC-1000, Sign Video PA-100 Proc Amp, and possibly an image enhancer of some type. I doubt that I will use any software features on this project so I will capture as mpeg and burn to disk. My Capture Device is currently the Winfast HDTV Cinema.....captures directly to mpeg-2.

My question isn't so much about the products to buy as it is about the "effects Chain".

My assumption woud be:
    VCR>TBC>PROC AMP>IMAGE ENHANCER>CAPTURE

Any chain advice or anything I am missing.

I also own a Samsung DVD VR-375.....any sense in just recording direct to disk with this machine given the above information?

Thanks,
    Matt
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM