VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    I have an AVI file, 29.97 fps.
    I'd like to IVTC it in Avisynth.
    It's animation, and stepping through it I see a pattern:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 4/5, 5, 6, 7, 8, 8/9 ....
    where 4/5 is a blend of frames 4 and 5.

    How can I remove the blended frames?
    I usually use :

    Telecide()
    Decimate()

    But I can't find any options to delete blends; just duplicates.

    A 5MB sample : https://www.yousendit.com/download/WnBSR0labWdCTW1Ga1E9PQ
    (new link)

    And some frames below: foot.png
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Could you use SelectRangeEvery(4,5) ? This should skip every fifth frame, and grab the next 4
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    Could you use SelectRangeEvery(4,5) ? This should skip every fifth frame, and grab the next 4
    On closer examination, it does not keep perfectly to that ratio.
    (eg 8739, 8744, 8749....... 26553, 26558....)
    so it would get out of step.

    I've looked at the TIVTC package, and can get it to recognise these frames as "combed".

    ShowCombedTIVTC(display=0,MI=4)
    Will flag these frames.

    There should be a way to use this in the matching TFM andTDecimate functions, struggling with the documention now.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member PuzZLeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Search Comp PM
    When you mean "blended frames" in that pattern, do you mean they're blurred together or they look "interlaced" together?

    Nevertheless, these will work:

    If the 2 out of 5 frames appear "interlaced":
    tfm()
    tdecimate()


    If the 2 out of 5 frames appear blurred you can use this:
    tdecimate(cycleR=1)

    But to get more efficiency in eliminating blurred blended frames use a plugin like "unblend" and the following in your script:
    LoadPlugin("plugins directory path"\unblend.dll)
    bob()
    unblend()
    tdecimate(cycleR=3)


    All encodes will generate a resultant frame rate of 23.796fps.

    I'm certain if Jagabo is reading this we will get a better solution.
    I hate VHS. I always did.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by PuzZLeR
    When you mean "blended frames" in that pattern, do you mean they're blurred together or they look "interlaced" together?

    Nevertheless, these will work:

    If the 2 out of 5 frames appear "interlaced":
    I'm not really sure of the terminology, so I supplied some images.
    And the pattern is 1 in 5, not 2.

    tfm()
    tdecimate()

    If the 2 out of 5 frames appear blurred you can use this:
    tdecimate(cycleR=1)
    Both of those leave the blended frames, remove duplicates.

    But to get more efficiency in eliminating blurred blended frames use a plugin like "unblend" and the following in your script:
    Tried that; same result as above.
    Zero documentation for that, so can't tweak it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Soopafresh
    Thanks. SRestore is very clever.
    It reduces the framerate to 12.5, which is probably the original rate.
    (So I'll make it PAL.)

    It removes most blended frames, but not all.
    Possibly I can work out its parameters and tune it, but it's already the best method so far.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    If the pattern in your first post is correct "1, 2, 3, 4, 4/5, 5, 6, 7, 8, 8/9 ...." the original frame rate was 25 fps."
    Actually, most of the video is 1,1,2,2,3/4,4,4,5,5,5/6... , which boils down to 12.5 fps.
    But I noticed a few parts were 1,2,3,4,4/5, where the background scrolled past (as in the sequence I made the images of above). I mentioned that as the most general case, as I wasn't trying to get the lowest fps, just film (or PAL, as it happens).
    Not sure how SRestore handled that, it's rather a black box.
    It did discard a few "good" frames, but I can accept that.

    I'm scanning through the Doom9 thread to see if I can get an idea of how to use it properly.
    I noticed an "frate" option, which seems to be output fps.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member PuzZLeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ah, now I see it.

    I thought you were pointing out a pattern where 2 frames out of 5 are interlaced/blurred (which would be too easy). I didn't realize that when you mentioned 4/5 and 8/9 you actually meant that as a separate stand-alone frame.

    Iím glad youíre on your way.
    I hate VHS. I always did.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    Guys, check your modems. If you don't have them turned on, turn on your modem lights. I would suggest you always have them on so you know what's going on. That website is a nasty web site. It refuse to let go of my pc and keeps sending me stuff. You guys w/ fast modems is prob too late..it installed whatever it might have installed w/out you knowing about it. suggest you run your virus/worm/trojan scanners soon as you are able. Me..I can't get free of it. I stopped all comm ports via my firewall for the last 5 minutes, and as soon as I turned it back on, its accessing my ports again. Maybe a worm. I don't know. So, I have to shut down..I'm beat at this..See you guys around..

    -vhelp 5002
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vhelp
    Guys, check your modems. If you don't have them turned on, turn on your modem lights. I would suggest you always have them on so you know what's going on. That website is a nasty web site. It refuse to let go of my pc and keeps sending me stuff. You guys w/ fast modems is prob too late..it installed whatever it might have installed w/out you knowing about it. suggest you run your virus/worm/trojan scanners soon as you are able. Me..I can't get free of it. I stopped all comm ports via my firewall for the last 5 minutes, and as soon as I turned it back on, its accessing my ports again. Maybe a worm. I don't know. So, I have to shut down..I'm beat at this..See you guys around..
    -vhelp 5002
    What are you talking about?
    I'll guess it's the Badongo link. I have a firewall, block popups, etc, so maybe it tried and failed.
    And I monitor my network too, nothing suspicious is going on.


    Anyway, I'll remove the original link, I mirrored it to Yousendit, which is pretty legit:
    https://www.yousendit.com/download/WnBSR0labWdCTW1Ga1E9PQ
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    Not all sites have a perfect record. Anyway. when I received the following popup, naturally I got worried:

    Kaspersky Anti-Hacker
    (!) unable to switch to/from stealth mode

    I wasn't acusing you, just the website, so I felt it was necessary to inform the members, just in case, thats all. From my desktop, I seem to be all right, no strange hapenstances or anything, so far

    . . .

    Anyway, I'll remove the original link, I mirrored it to Yousendit, which is pretty legit:
    Thanks. I was mearly curious because I thought I might have something similar and was trying to determine if I had the same issue as your source so that I understand the nature of such telecines and also to fix it.

    -vhelp 5003
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vhelp
    I wasn't acusing you,
    No problem, I don't vouch for them, I've just found it convenient on a few occasions and never had any issues.
    But sites can go evil, or get hacked, so caution is always in order.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads