VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey everyone, Im very new to the "video" world. And just recently bought an external Hard Drive to transfer my DVD collection to for easy access. Ive got it connected to my XBOX 360 so I need to transfer the video to AVI. I was recomended Handbrake and after selecting all the proper boxes in the program and put the DVD in I hit start. Then a window pops up and says estimated time 100 or so hours to complete...Is this normal runing time to tranfer files?? Or is there a better software to do this??....Thanx for all your help
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Should take an hour or two unless you have a really slow computer. You might try AutoGK, assuming you are converting to Xvid/Divx. H.264 encodes can take quite a bit more time.

What AVI type format (codec) are you encoding to? There are many, many variations that could be called 'AVI'. AVI is just a container name, not a codec name.

Also, did you try encoding after that popup? That estimate may change to something more normal after a few minutes.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanx for the reply...Ill give that program a try....I realy dont know what codec I was using...Where would I look??...Sorry for the dumb questions....When I selected the xbox 360 I think it popped up H.264 in a section of Handbrake...Im doing this on a laptop thats a few years old but it runs fairly well...Thanx for the help, Ive looked around on here and there are some great guides....but couldnt realy find the answer I was looking for
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    H264 is slower to encode (much more CPU intensive) than Xvid/Divx. If you have a single core CPU expect it to be a few hours at least. Dual core cuts that time by around 40%. Depends on how old your laptop really is.