VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am a newbie to converting DVD. Researching the various tools used in converting DVDs to a format compatible with a device such as a mobile phone I see many programs on conversion and some on decryption. I then came across notices about legal matters and the conversion of copyrighted DVD movies to devices like a mobile phone or other mp4 video players. Can someone tell me what is legal and what is not legal when it comes to converting a DVD movie onto a device such as a mobile phone or similar device? Is it legal to use the various software programs out there to decrypt and convert (like DVDFab)? I like the idea of watching a movie on my mobile phone, but I don't want to be violating any laws to do so. All feedback on this question is most appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Laws vary from country to country.
    you may try to google fairuse and your country.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks very much. I am referring to laws in the United States. Thanks again!
    Quote Quote  
  4. The DMCA made circumventing digital encryption illegal in the USA.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Your questions are unanswerable. No one can give you legal advice except a lawyer who would charge for it. Even then it would just be an opinion. A court could hold differently.

We are all probably in violation of dozens of laws just sitting at our desks, typing. There are too many laws for anyone to know them all - and - they are all subject to interpretation.

There are exceptions to the DMCA and it has not been closely examined by the higher courts. It is so broadly written that some fear that it effectively outlaws all cryptographic research.

As a practical matter, listening to music on my phone kills my battery in about 25 min. I only use my cell for calls, not as a media player. My battery will last about three days if I just use it as a phone.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned