VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    I have a wierd problem of DVDs (home made) which play on DVD player without audio but when played on a computer plays audio and video well - I thought it might eb codec issue where in the DVD is using a codec that is not compatible with regular players - is there anyway I can figure out the issue and convert the DVDs to use alternative codecs that will work with most DVDs ?

If you are suggesting any tools or processes, kindly provide instructions or a a link to a page that does it as I am a complete novice to video editing.

thank you,
    -Avi
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    What is the AUDIO codec ? Use Mediainfo and open a vob from the dvd (if you don't know where to check then just change to view->text and copy and paste the information in this topic)

I guess it's mpeg layer 2audio/mpa/mp2 and it might not work on some players. You can reconvert to ac3/dolby digital using for example tmpgenc dvd author, add dvd-video and change to convert to ac3 audio.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Here is the output from running mediainfo
    ===========================================
    General
    Complete name : F:\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.VOB
    Format : MPEG-PS
    File size : 977 MiB
    Duration : 20mn 58s
    Overall bit rate : 6 509 Kbps

Video
    ID : 224 (0xE0)
    Format : MPEG Video
    Format version : Version 2
    Format profile : Main@Main
    Format settings, Matrix : Default
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 5 673 Kbps
    Nominal bit rate : 6 000 Kbps
    Width : 720 pixels
    Height : 576 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 4/3
    Frame rate : 25.000 fps
    Standard : PAL
    Colorimetry : 4:2:0
    Scan type : Interlaced
    Scan order : Bottom Field First
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.547

Audio
    ID : 192 (0xC0)
    Format : MPEG Audio
    Format version : Version 1