VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

I am completely new to this field. I recently bought a WD-TV HD Player. I thought it is a very good way to convert all my DVDs to digital files and have everything ready in a hard drive.

Somewhere I read that if I convert DVDs to .MKV files, it will carry all the subtitles and bonus features of the dvd too. My question is how do I rip dvds to .MKV files?

Your help is very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Jacques
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    You can convert DVDs to MKV, but it takes quite a bit of time and computer power to do this. Playback is similar.

That said, try XviD4PSP or RipBot264 or FairUse Wizard for H.264 formats. Probably others that don't come to mind at present.

You will lose menus. And any 'extras' would have to be separate files. You can have multiple audio and subtitle tracks, though.

And welcome to our forums.

EDIT: BTW, 'ripping' is just transferring the contents of the DVD to your hard drive. You may need a program like DVDFab HD Decrypter to do that. The actual encoding is a bit more complex process.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks redwudz!

What is the best way to put my dvds to a hard drive so that I do not loose the menus & extra features?

Thanks

Jacques
    Quote Quote  
  4. If you use AnyDVD or DVDFab you can choose to transfer parts (e.g main movie only) or all (exact copy incl. menu, extras, subs) of the DVD to your hard drive

As redwudz pointed out, you can't keep DVD menus in an .mkv format
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The only option that comes to mind would be RatDVD. But I tried it and didn't like it
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    -snip-
    you can't keep DVD menus in an .mkv format
    -snip-