VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    hello all. i am a total noob and need some help. i just got a samsung bluray player, and have started converting my mkv files to blurays, and am totally blown away by the quality. the guide here was perfect step by step. the only problwm i have is that i have several mkv files that are like 9.5 gigs and i need them to be able to fit on a dual layer. can anyone point me to a guide that telsl step by step how to do this. i have been reading the fourms and i see replies liek de multiplex re encode and al lthat jazz, but i dont know how to do al lthat. i need tool names i need, and step by step. also i have liek 120 wmv-hd movies, is there a easy way to convert them to bluray liek mkvs? i use tsmultiplexer, convert to bluray format and burn, takes me very little time. thanks so much in advance. tom
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    You can use Ripbot264 to shrink the mkv to blu-ray/avhcd. Click on it for guides. It might work with wmvhds also...or try xvid4psp.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    i installed ripbot, and it wont do anythign cause it says ffshadow is not installed, and it is.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    THEN install ffdshow...
    Quote Quote  
  5. You probably have an old version of ffdshow installed and it's warning you to install a more recent build
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    couple of questions about ripbot, when i imported a mkv, nothing happened, but when i used tsmuxer and converted to a bluray disc, then ripbot started working. is that the way its supposed to be done? also when i first imported the m2ts fstream from the bluray, down at the bottom of the screen i saw where i could set output size, but once it finished demuxing streams that went away. i saw no where to set size out put. i want to be able to shrink these movies so they can fit to a dvd5 or a dual layer. thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Set to 2-pass encoding under Mode and you can change the output file size at the bottom.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    hey, i have another question about ripbot. is this a multithreaded program? i have a duo core 3.05 gighz, its a 64 bit processor. i have 4 gigs of ram, vistsa ultimate 64bit. so my question is this. i have a 8.5 gig x264 and i need to convert it down to 7.9 gigs. should it take 27 hours? i know we are dealing with hd files, but i figured my system specs should go way quicker. am i wrong
    Quote Quote  
  9. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, multi-threaded. RipBot (The encoder part) uses all cores of my quad 3Ghz CPU at 100%. It takes about six hours to encode a Blu-ray to MKV two pass. Check your Task Manager>Performance during encoding and it should tell you the CPU utilization. No, it shouldn't take that long, maybe 12hrs max.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    100% cpu on mine as well. i wonder if i have something set wrong in the settings.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    on my quad core a 720 encoded file takes about 4 to 5 hours if you are doing a 1080 it will take a lot longer

    You are in breach of the forum rules and are being issued with a formal warning.
    / Moderator Baldrick


    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads