VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, I have a VC1 file in a WMV container, but I'm having some choppy playback on my computer, so I would like to convert it to AVI if possible. I have never worked with any hi-def/blu-ray stuff before, so I don't really know any of the terms. Can anybody help me with this? Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Tried any all-in-one converter? Like xvid4psp.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, it's certainly possible to convert with tools like Dr. Divx (I have done this exact conversion with it) and probably AutoGK and others. But I have to warn you that if your PC can't play this WMV file that you may have issues after conversion to AVI too. WMV is pretty easy on CPUs as is Divx/Xvid and such a conversion may not make much difference. If you are working with a 1080p VC1 file, you're probably going to have to resize it down to 720p to have any hope of playing it without problems as you're likely to have problems with 1080p Divx/Xvid too.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jman98
    Yes, it's certainly possible to convert with tools like Dr. Divx (I have done this exact conversion with it) and probably AutoGK and others. But I have to warn you that if your PC can't play this WMV file that you may have issues after conversion to AVI too. WMV is pretty easy on CPUs as is Divx/Xvid and such a conversion may not make much difference. If you are working with a 1080p VC1 file, you're probably going to have to resize it down to 720p to have any hope of playing it without problems as you're likely to have problems with 1080p Divx/Xvid too.
    It's already 720p. I don't have serious problems with the playback, it's just kind of choppy. Should I just deal with it and not bother to convert it?
    Quote Quote