VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Using Camstudio 2.5, I forgot to actually swap applications and stop the recording. When I came back to the recorder, it had stopped recording by itself. I ended up recovering a 17gig AVI temp file (CRAM codec was detected from other avi files recorded with my version of Camstudio).

Interesting bits:

-I couldnt 'fix' the file using AVIMedic or DVR
    -After reading up some on this forum I tried playing the file using VLC which refuses to play it at all (so did Quicktime)
    -WMP says the movie is 18ish hours long, tho it should be about 45 mins
    -Resolution is read as 0x0, tho it should be 1600x1280
    -Gspot doesnt recognise file type

I'm very new to video files playing issues (or just video stuff alltogether) but I'm guessing it's not about the codec since I can play other Camstudio AVI. I'm guessing people not manually stopping Camstudio recording is a comon occurence but I couldnt find any info in the soft's FAQ or digging through Googling results.

Any ideas as to how I can get this file to play would be greatly appreciated,
    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    In most instances, if VLC can't play it, then it can't be fixed.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    After a quick check of the VLC homepage, I don't think it supports CRAM/the CamStudio codec. Or, at least I saw no mention of it. Maybe mplayer/mencoder does, I don't know.
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Last time that popped up I was able to get virtualdub to load it , but then picture was scewered.

Both sony vegas and ulead videostudio 9 were able to cure the problem on my end.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM