VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Right I’m new to all this Blu-ray authoring stuff etc and I have a few questions. I have started a collection of Blu-ray movies on my PC and they are in mkv format. I have found this guide via this site (http://brothers_grim.webs.com/bd/index.html) which seems ok but I still need to confirm a few things. BTW if there is a better guide then please feel free to point me in the right direction.

My aim is to burn HD movies onto a BR disc to play in my stand alone Sony BR player (not PS3).
    So from the above guide I have easily done the first part using tsMuxeR and noted down the resolution and the frame rate, which was 1920:816p and 23.976, BTW the movie I am using was ripped from a 1080p BR disc (well so it says lol).

The next part states to use BDedit and to change the drop down box to the actual BR resolution. Now in the example they picked 720p as their resolution was 544p. Mine is 816p so which one do I pick, I was hopefully going for 1080p. So anyway I picked 1080p from the drop down list which btw is number 6 in the list as the guide states to note the number of your selection in the list down.

Next onto HxD (which I totally don’t get lol) to open the clpi file. Now it says you use that previous number from the last step (6) to change where the Offset meets. Now in the example it's Offset 108-108, is this always the case or will this vary, how do you know where the Offset meets?? I have found my “0” like they do in the example but mine is on offset 109:109...

Now If I change this to 6 then re-check the file in BDedit like the guide states it doesn’t quite added up lol, there is no resolution when you check the clip file in the CLIPINF tab...

Where I am going wrong, oh and sorry for being such a nooob!!!
    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. You have a blu-ray writer?

It's way easier to rip the blu-ray to HD, then burn the blu-ray