VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

My Windows XP computer has crashed- I'm no techie and have lost 'bookmarks' that the now-suddenly and mysteriously outdated version of Firefox had lost. Many useful programs have also crashed and trying to load antivirus etc won't connect to server. System restore won't work past the 'restore' button (does nothing).

I have tiscali 7Mbps with 80gb, use Firefox, and somehow I managed to get the speedtouch to connect, that's about it. Registry clean merely states that 'files not found' (Nero/DVDShrink and Spybot etc programs have been wiped out?) Can I do anything to save this computer and get files and programs working again?

What steps should I take now? Shall I be better off limping along with this and buying a new one?

Thanks in frustration.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Is the computer booting up? Sounds like it is... There is so many things it could be....but without more info or testing it myself. A wild guess would be a virus or a failing harddrive. Download SUPERAntiSpyware (free version) and run...it has detected and removed more things for me than all paid versions of the big guys.
    If you are only getting "bluescreens" when trying to boot XP then reinstall XP over curent copy, sometimes the operationg files get corrupted and this will replace them (if you dont let it format then all the programs that were there will still be there when your done)

Like I said this is a few wild guesses based on past experience.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I recommend backing up the documents and other files that you want to save and starting over. Whatever is wrong probably won't be easy for you to fix. Be sure to scan your backup disks for viruses before copying back onto your boot drive. You may want to install a new HDD as your boot drive, and keep the old one as the backup for your files while you copy them to the new drive.