VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi everyone,

I am new to using a Mac, and recently purchased an iMac to do some video editing. I went to an Apple store and told them what I needed to do and they recommended the iMac I am using and using Popcorn 3 to "rip" the video I need into iMovie.

I am a college football official and I want to be able to take game film that I receive on a DVD from the game I work and edit out specific plays for my crew and I to look at. The ultimate goal would be to make a new DVD with specific plays from the game that would be distributed to each member of my crew (out of 140 plays in a game, there may be anywhere from 15-25 specific plays to look at and review)

I am new to this (Yes I'm a newbie...I admit it) and have absolutely no clue how to import the game film I receive on a DVD into iMovie. Nothing I try seems to work.

Is Popcorn 3 the correct application to use, or is there something else that I should be using?

If Popcorn 3 will work, how do I get the game film into iMovie?

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you in advance for your time and help.

Kind Regards,

JCS
    Quote Quote  
  2. use MpegStreamClip (freeware for personal use) and the Apple MPEG2 component (20$)

if your DVD are protected aginst copy, maybe you use Popcorn
    if not, directly give the .vob to MPSC, keep the intersting parts (and trim the others)

export to DV (for iMovie)
    OR
    convert to mpeg (no reencoding) and just author the resulting mpeg on DVD-Video

bye
    For DVD, iPad, HD, connected TV, … iMovie & FCPX? MovieConverter-Studio 3 (01/24/2015) - Handle your camcorder's videos? even in 60p or 60i? do a slow-motion? MovieCam.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Herve is right, for a more detailed step by step
    of how to do this, see my post in the recent similar topic
    here.
    "Everyone has to learn, so that they can one day teach."