VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 25 of 25
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'm looking to get a dedicated PC for the Hauppauge HD PVR (model 1212)

    I'm looking to Only record (no playback) & have the PC work as a file server so that a remote PC can d/l (and watch from remote PC)

    I want to get something that does this without problem - but not buy anything that I don't need - as I won't be using it for anything else.

    What do you recommend?
    I'm assuming Win XP or woudl Windows Vista Home Premium be better for this?
    Also I've seen 3 Processors about the same price:
    (a) Intel Pentium D @ 2.8 GHz
    (b) AMD x2 5200+
    (c) Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.2 GHz
    which is best for what I need?

    Also being that it'll be on 24/7 (though 80% of the time doing nothing)- should I buy anything special?
    Also being on 24/7 I'd like something low on energy (don't want to run up an electric bill for this)
    Also being that I might need it to record something at the same time that the remote PC is downloading a different file - should I buy 2 separate hard drives to faciliate that- i.e. won't it slow down both the d/l and recording if it's trying to have constant hard drive access to a single drive?

    thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Think larger (remote playback PC that is).
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    for the remote PC - I'm set.
    I'm just trying to configure the PC to capture and file serve.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Any of those processors will be ok as long as you have a graphics card with h.264 decoding. About the cheapest that meets that requirement is the NVIDIA 8500GT. You can get those (or the 8600 GT) in silent (fanless) versions. If you use one of the front ends that doesn't display the video while capturing (and don't plan to watch on that computer), you can use just about any CPU and graphics card you want. CPU usage on my Q6600 barely even registers while capturing with rcTVCap.

    Avoid the Pentium D, it runs pretty hot and requires more cooling (noise).
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Also curious about the Shuttle K45 KPC
    they seem to be low in energy
    but with the same specs (2GHz core 2 Duo Dual-core E2180) does that mean that it won't work as well?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    I would go with a AMD 780G chipset motherboard or perhaps one of the newer AMD 790GX chipset motherboards.

    These are very nice and inexpensive motherboards (especially the 780G motherboards) and best of all they have very nice built-in video (with HDMI output) so you don't need to buy a video card (nor soundcard).

    For the CPU I suggest the AMD Athlon X2 4850e 2.5Ghz because it is cheap and has low power consumption yet is more than capable especially when paired up with one of the aforementioned AMD motherboards.

    Slap in 2GB RAM and you actually have a system that should handle playback as well as recording for a relatively low price.

    However if you plan on doing any re-encoding etc. then it would be a bit on the slow side!

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman

    P.S.
    Here is an example of what I am talking about:

    1.) $128.99 = GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-DS4H (AMD 790GX chipset motherboard)
    2.) $64.99 = AMD Athlon X2 4850e (2.5GHz 45W Dual-Core Processor)
    3.) $30.49 = Kingston ValueRAM 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Memory

    Total Price = $224.47 USD (plus shipping)

    Note that a system like this doesn't need a super duper power supply either since the video is built-in on the motherboard and the CPU is a low watt model. So that is another savings (in that you don't need a "monster" power supply).
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks - no re-encoding.
    Any info on the Shuttle- (looks cute)
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cgott42
    thanks - no re-encoding.
    Any info on the Shuttle- (looks cute)
    I edited my post above to include some links.

    Sorry I don't know much about the shuttle models.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks - I started looking on eBay for this.
    Haven't found a system with both yet - but still looking.
    Quote Quote  
  10. i don't think u can find a system like that on ebay.you have to build it your self.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    any idea what the approx. cost (electic bill) is to run a PC 24/7 (80% of the time idle)?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I see a system using the 780G motherboard
    but instead of the 4850e CPU it has a AMD Athlon 64 6000+ CPU
    how does that stack up (power consumption, performance difference).
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cgott42
    I see a system using the 780G motherboard
    but instead of the 4850e CPU it has a AMD Athlon 64 6000+ CPU
    how does that stack up (power consumption, performance difference).
    I suggested the AMD Athlon X2 4850e because it is fast enough yet only 45 watts. The AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ is A-OK speed wise (I believe it is faster) but it is more watts. What confuses me is apparently there are three different versions of it and two are 89 watts and one is 125 watts. I believe the 125 watts version has been around forever now whereas the two at 89 watts are much newer. So if this is something you saw on eBay I'm guessing it is the 125 watts version of the CPU.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman

    P.S.
    Over at the NewEgg.com website they have the following listed:

    1.) AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W

    2.) AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W

    3.) AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W

    Now I am no expert when it comes to CPU's but I look at stuff on NewEgg.com all the time and I've never noticed choice 2/3 before. So I am guessing these are somewhat new.
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks, I asked the seller if he could use the 4850e CPU.
    For this PC - I need somthing already put together - b/c for the next month I don't have the time needed to put one together.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Found one that might fit the bill.
    specs are below (It says the processor is also only 45W, and has the 780G chipset. Let me know what you think.
    It'll cost me about $320 shipped.

    AthenaTech EVO A3701 Media Center case -
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 Brisbane Dual-Core CPU @ 2.3GHz
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H Motherboard w/ AMD 780G chipset. VGA/DVI/HDMI video output. SPDIF digital audio out.
    2GB (2x1GB) Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM
    500gb Maxtor SATA Hard Drive (3 year warranty on hard drive)
    Cooler Master eXtreme Power 500w Power Supply
    LG GH20NS15 20x DVD-RW drive
    Quote Quote  
  16. no OS?who's the seller?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I would put Win XP Home on it (I have a spare copy of that)
    so I don't mind the no OS.
    Choice comes down to this machine (above) for $320
    or Shuttle KP45 w/Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz for $210 (low power consumption)

    Is it worth the difference?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cgott42
    Found one that might fit the bill.
    specs are below (It says the processor is also only 45W, and has the 780G chipset. Let me know what you think.
    It'll cost me about $320 shipped.

    AthenaTech EVO A3701 Media Center case -
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 Brisbane Dual-Core CPU @ 2.3GHz
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H Motherboard w/ AMD 780G chipset. VGA/DVI/HDMI video output. SPDIF digital audio out.
    2GB (2x1GB) Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM
    500gb Maxtor SATA Hard Drive (3 year warranty on hard drive)
    Cooler Master eXtreme Power 500w Power Supply
    LG GH20NS15 20x DVD-RW drive
    Sounds like a good deal for the money. I'd say you found a real bargain there. PM me the seller info I might have to get one myself 8)

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member SHS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vinita, Oklahoma
    Search Comp PM
    cgott42 you can used any thing you want as long you have USB2 port
    But you do need keep in mind is what apps you want to used.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    SHS:
    I'm not sure what you mean.
    i.e. the only 2 apps that I want to run are:
    (a) the apps in the HD PVR to record
    (b) transferring files over the network at the same time.

    and my goal is to do this (a) as cheaply as possible (b) using minimal electricity costs
    Quote Quote  
  21. If you want to use the ArcSoft Capture Module that comes with the HD PVR you will need suffient CPU power to to decode 720p and 1080i h.264 video. Or you will need a graphics card that supports hardware h.264 decoding. This is because the Arcsoft capture module displays the incoming h.264 video as it is recieved and stored to the hard drive.

    There is other software that simply stores the incoming data to the hard drive. Using this software you can use any x86 computer produced in the last ~5 years -- as long as it has a USB 2.0 port. See rcTvCap (be aware it's a command line drive application):

    http://blog.arogan.com/2008/06/hauppauge-hd-pvr-model-1212.html

    I believe some of the PVR packages (like BeyondTV, SageTV) have this ability too.

    I think the motherboard and CPU you are considering will work with the ArcSoft Capture Module but I'm not sure.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    The AMD 780G and AMD 790GX motherboards both support DXVA or hardware assisting decoding of H.264 if that H.264 video conforms to the DXVA specifications.

    I don't have a Hauppauge HD PVR so I don't know if it is DXVA "friendly" or not.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by FulciLives
    I don't have a Hauppauge HD PVR so I don't know if it is DXVA "friendly" or not.
    Yes, the Arcsoft software that comes with the HD PVR uses DXVA. On my Q6600 + 8600GT system I see about 1 percent CPU usage while watching or capturing with it. With software decoding it runs around 25 percent.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Great.
    thanks I bought a system with the 780G board as suggested
    and Brisbane Chip (runs at 45W) so hopefully it conserves energy.
    If not I can swap the CPU later.

    thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  25. Originally Posted by cgott42
    Great.
    thanks I bought a system with the 780G board as suggested
    and Brisbane Chip (runs at 45W) so hopefully it conserves energy.
    If not I can swap the CPU later.

    thanks!
    780g is an excellent choice .I bought a one over a month ago

    GIGABYTE GA-MA78GPM-DS2H

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128341

    ATI Radeon HD 3200
    128MB DDR3 SidePort memory

    D-Sub + DVI
    HDMI 1 x HDMI
    USB 4 x USB 2.0
    IEEE 1394 1 x IEEE 1394a
    eSATA 1 x eSATA 3Gb/s
    S/PDIF Out 1x Optical
    Audio Ports 6 Ports
    and more
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads