VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. I'm confused, I would like to know how to copy dual layer dvd. First, do I need to install a dual layer burner in my computer or can I just use my dvd burner to copy a dual layer dvd using blank dual layer disc.
    Gerald Sr.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    You need a dual layer burner to burn dual layer media....Use Imgburn.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    You've been here 3.5 years and you still don't know how to do this? Let me guess - you're one of those people who only posts when he has a question and never pays attention otherwise, right? Also, you are fairly lazy as you can find guides on how to do this.

    The basic procedure is:
    1) Rip the DVD using DVDFab HD Decrypter or AnyDVD. Older ripping tools don't get updated and may not work with all DVDs.
    2) Use Verbatim DVD+R DL discs or you are asking for problems.
    3) Burn with ImgBurn or you are asking for problems.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Adding to jman98's post:

    4) Make sure you have a dual-layer DVD burner. (ImgBurn has a function that will tell you what your hardware is capable of burning.)
    Quote Quote  
  5. Listen Jman98, there is a reason we ask a certain question. We haven't reach your expertise as yet pal. Thanks very much for the insult. If you are ithe kind that insult a member whenever they ask a question, DON'T ANSWER THE DAMN THREAD. IDIOT.
    Gerald Sr.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Greetings Supreme2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Right Here, Right Now
    Search Comp PM
    You see, that is EXACTLY the type of attitude that prevents you from learning anything.

    jman is 100% correct. Shame on you! You are a lazy s.o.b. That is one of the most basic of basic questions for this site. He was much more helpful than he should have been. Most would have directed you to the guides on the left.

    Unless the Sr. means that you're 90 or so, then you're excused and also commended for even being able to get on the internet.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Okay, let's take a deep breath. Gerald Sr., if you can look past any perceived offenses, you will find that jman98 and Baldrick have provided the solution to your problem. Good luck to you.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    jman, Baldrick & filmboss80. Thanks for the info. Almost exactly the info I'm looking for.

    Using Roxio Toast 11.1, for burning, on an iMac with a built-in Optiarc DVD RW AD-5630A (Internal) Super-Drive, I managed to Burn a dual layer 7.32GB disk onto a single layer 4.7 GB disc with moderate compression, and still get a Very Good quality image. However I had to load the DVD as a Video Project, rather than as a straight copy, (straight copy wouldn't accept the difference in disc size - the source is too big) although if I think about it, and if I had set the compression to ON (only if needed), it may have worked as a straight copy. (I haven't tried that, but will next time the situation comes up.)

    Setting up the project as a Video Project to Burn a DVD, loading and selecting the source disc, then switching to COPY, resulted in a very good impression of the original DVD on the 4.7GB Maxell DVD R, which plays well on a conventional Sony DVD/VCR Player.

    Thanks for your time.
    Last edited by constructo; 3rd Mar 2013 at 23:20. Reason: Basic Information changed, and managed to resolve the problem.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads