VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or buy Replay Video Capture or PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, etc! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The bottom of the planet
    Search Comp PM
    Okay, I have been making video files in iMovie, and I have a friend whose computer is too low-spec to see them on YouTube. So I figure, why not try encoding them in iDVD and send a physical DVD to her?

    So I get all the video assets placed on the disc, but when I click the burn option or try to make a disc image, I always get to about halfway through the preparation of the disc and it bombs out with an error message saying "There was an error during rendering/encoding of the menus/slideshows. The burning process has been canceled."

    Now I feel like an idiot, but there are no slideshows on this disc. And the only thing I can think of that I am doing wrong in the menus is that I am putting one of my iMovie-made videos in the drop zone. That aside, I have no idea what I could be doing wrong. I do not even know what information to provide at this juncture.

    *sigh* It's still a thousand times more flexible than my old IBuM, I must say...
    "It's getting to the point now when I'm with you, I no longer want to have something stuck in my eye..."
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member terryj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N3525.24068, W09734.204
    Search Comp PM
    ok,
    let's take it by the numbers:

    1. All of your video content is coming over from iMovie correct?

    2. You have video assets on the main menu, and you have your
    assets for the actual movie, but they contain no pictures?

    3. You verified that you have enough Disc space left on the main HD?
    20% is the bare minimum that must be free for OS X to use
    as virtual memory in encoding, so say on an 80GB HD,
    you need to have 16GB free.

    4. You have enough HD space on the drive where the assets are stored
    to enable the temp file to be built while encoding?
    If you have say 100GB of assets, you need at least 100GB free space
    for the temp file to write while it's encoding.

    You error could point to several things, such as #3 and 4 above,
    it could point to also assets that weren't ran through iMovie first,
    and that iDVD is having problems converting them to DVD spec,
    such as .flv files for example.
    But you said that all your assets have come from iMovie, so that
    shouldn't be the case....
    "Everyone has to learn, so that they can one day teach."
    ------------------------------------------------------
    When I'm not here, Where can I be found?
    Urban Mac User
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The bottom of the planet
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, all of my content is coming from iMovie. About the only thing that I can think of there is that the video assets are in different resolutions. One file is 640 by 480, the others are 540 and either 4:3 or 16:9, depending on what I had originally made them for.

    I am not sure I fully understand the second question. The files are linked to the main menu, and as far as I can tell no pictures are involved.

    I definitely have enough free space, though. I still have over 600 GB on my main hard drive that I have not yet used.

    This is probably an equally silly question, but how do I get screen captures on the Mac? That would make it easier for me to show more helpful information, I think.
    "It's getting to the point now when I'm with you, I no longer want to have something stuck in my eye..."
    Quote Quote  
  4. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Nilfennasion
    How do I get screen captures on the Mac?
    In the Finder, there's a Help menu, which lists Mac Help (Cmd-?). Go to the Index. Select 'S'. Select 'screen shot'. There you'll find several articles on making and using screen shots. The article 'Shortcuts for taking pictures of the screen' is perhaps the one to get you started.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The bottom of the planet
    Search Comp PM
    Okay, the specific error message I get is (hopefully) attached to this message...

    "It's getting to the point now when I'm with you, I no longer want to have something stuck in my eye..."
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member terryj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N3525.24068, W09734.204
    Search Comp PM
    "Everyone has to learn, so that they can one day teach."
    ------------------------------------------------------
    When I'm not here, Where can I be found?
    Urban Mac User
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Search PM
    ..it may help maybe to use a idvd 6.0 theme instead of a 7.0 theme.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads