VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I was chatting on IM when my pc froze for a few seconds and then I got a blue screen that stated something about a memory dump. When I restarted my pc I get a "no boot device available". I can hit F1 to retry and F2 to enter bios. In bios boot sequence 1 is onboard SATA hard drive but it says "not present".

Also in bios driver section I notice that driver 1 (SATA 1) has a driver id: unknown. The dvdrom and dvd-rom drives are read and functional. I tried reinstalling xp but when it gets to partitioning section I get same no bootable device
    found. The pc wasn't touched at all before this happened and I didnt DL or visit any risky sites so I know its not a virus.

I believe its either my western digital internal HD or the CMOS battery. I'm using my iPhone to post this message. Please help me and if u need any additional info please ask. Its a dell XPS gen 5.

2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm no expert, but mine does this from time to time, I just pull the SATA plug off & on the motherboard a few times, restart it and away it goes.

3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Most likely either a loose drive cable connection or bad cable. I've had this problem a couple of times with IDE drives which was either loose cable or bad cable, and I suspect the same would be likely for SATA connections.

Search Comp PM
    open it up and make sure both the power and data cables are still seated in the drive and motherboard. if they are then the hard drive probably died.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303

5. Member
    Search PM
    what about that battery? I had heard it could also be the problem. Although I used Dell Diagnosis and it checked out. How could a cable get loose when the base never moves? I'll try it since I'm bored to death and have nothing to lose. I hope the 3 yo HD didnt die, that would suck. Idk if this makes a difference but I hear 2 beeps when pc starts.