VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    What is your backup strategy - software, DOS, etc.? I'm just getting into backing up my HDD. Should have been doing it sooner. What are you doing to back up? What are some good strategies? Images vs copying, etc. Easy vs foolproof, etc.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Ghost my OS drive after any program installs or OS patches
    RAID 5 on my data drive, so I don't back it up
    tgpo famous MAC commercial, You be the judge?
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    I use the FixEverythingThat'sWrongWithThisVideo() filter. Works perfectly every time.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Assuming you are running Windows, the easiest way is to buy another hard disk of the same size or larger (but NOT smaller!!!) as the one you want to back up, attaching it to your PC through whatever means are appropriate, buying Norton Ghost and using that for backups. Then you can remove the backup hard drive when finished. I prefer disk to disk copies as I'm not real fond of the whole imaging thing, but some prefer that. Disk to disk copies are just easier to deal with if they are the same type of drive because if the original dies, you can just pop in the replacement and go. Imaging requires you to restore an image. Ghost is often used by businesses to make an image of a Windows install that can easily be replicated to new machines, so it does work.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I make a image of my boot drive when I first set it up with Acronis True Image. Then a second one when all my software is installed and working properly. I use DVD media most times. But I have also backed up to a network drive on my system. Most of my other data, videos, downloaded programs, etc., is backed up anyway to DVD, so I am more concerned with the OS and the installed programs.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM