VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have a 103 MB video (avi) file that I recorded with my digital camera. I wanted to cut off certain frames in the beginning and end and in my infinite simplemindedness :P figured that would also make the file smaller, since I need it to be no bigger than 100 mb.
    I got virtualdub, deleted the frames I wanted and tried to "save as avi". But the new file is waaaay bigger than the original.
    What can I do? Is there another way to make this file smaller? I'm a total newbie, and not sure what other information you might need to help me, I'm sorry.
    Please let me know what else you need to know, or if it can even be done?
    Thank you very much in advance
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    enable direct stream copy for video
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    OMG, thank you! What a simple solution.... thanks a lot!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    When you do a direct stream copy, you insure that you don't degrade the video quality by encoding it. If you encode unnecessarily, the video quality is reduced.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    ok, thank you... I will definitely try to remember that. I'm totally new to any of this, so any help is appreaciated
    Quote Quote  
  6. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    It sounds like you solved your problem. But just for reference, if you don't select a output codec in VD and you use Full Processing Mode, it will default to uncompressed RGB video, which will give you a huge filesize.

If your input was DV, you can also use filtering or modify the image, then use Full Processing and add a DV codec like the Cedocida DV Codec to encode back to the DV format.