VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member satansgutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hey everyone, i've read a few tutorials and guides to converting 5.1 AAC to 5.1 AC3. A lot of them require a few steps and complicated settings. I've found the easiest way to convert AAC to AC3, well for me anyway. The programs needed are:

    aacDecDrop
    MeGUI


    I was getting an error everytime I tried converting an AAC to AC3 using only MeGUI. So I found these tools by following guides etc and the best way is to convert your AAC file to WAV using aacDecDrop. All you do is drag and drop the file into the window. Then use MeGUI to convert the WAV into AC3. I'm assuming you know how to use MeGUI so I won't explain in detail. Once that is done you have your 5.1 AC3.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Search PM
    Another way to convert AAC to AC3

    1. Convert (Decode) AAC to wav using Nero AAC Codec (NeroAacDec.exe) command line version.
    Alternatively NeroAAC UI can be used if you don't want to use command line.
    2. Convert wav to ac3 using Eac3to.
    Alternatively EAC3to conversion utility if you like GUI.
    Last edited by newyear1967; 15th Feb 2010 at 23:27.
    Quote Quote  
  3. If you convert to wav won't you be converting to 2 channel. How can you convert from that to 5.1
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by MerlinBiggs View Post
    If you convert to wav won't you be converting to 2 channel. How can you convert from that to 5.1
    Two channel WAV is the most common, but WAV can support 6 channels. It's just up to the user to be sure that he/she actually creates a 6 channel WAV file and not a 2 channel one.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Aah - I did not know that. Been trying to get a 6 channel aac to 5.1 ac3 but can only seem to manage 2 channel results - I'll give the above method a go.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    The easiest way is probably Nero Wave Editor but it is not free.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hellas
    Search PM
    Don't forget the free "foobar2000" too (5.1 wav), and "eac3to" as @newyear1967 has already reccomended.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    malaysia
    Search Comp PM
    i've tried Nero Wave Editor for the aac5.1-ac35.1 conversion, but when when i clicked 'save as' there is no ac3 option in the 'save as type'. i have installed ac3filter and the file played ok in media player. anybody knows why?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I've got ac3 in my "save as" box and it saved as 5.1 ac3.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	15690
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	1854  

    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    malaysia
    Search Comp PM
    That's very strange... This is what I get:Click image for larger version

Name:	nerowave.jpg
Views:	8326
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	2084
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    You know, this might be a Windows 7 thing. My friend installed Nero 7 Ultra on Windows 7 64bit Ultimate and the program won't open up (he gets the window but the inside is missing).

    He can get to all the programs from the folder except for the burn engine so he had to install Imageburn to burn anything.

    Do you have AC3ACM installed on your computer? The latest version has encoding support and Nero might depend on this for ac3 encoding, I don't know.


    You might want to send Nero an e-mail and find out why it's not showing up.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    malaysia
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, i did install AC3ACM. I also uninstalled and reinstalled the latest AC3ACM just to make sure, but nothing happens. But it's okay now. I've tried several other ways and one of them is successful. First I converted my MP4 video to MKV format with MKVToolNix, as suggested by someone in the forum, then I used Popcorn MKV Audio Converter to change from ACC to AC3... and voila! ... I have an MKV video with 1.5 AC3 sound. Anyway, thanks very much for all your answers.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by naskad View Post
    Yes, i did install AC3ACM. I also uninstalled and reinstalled the latest AC3ACM just to make sure, but nothing happens. But it's okay now. I've tried several other ways and one of them is successful. First I converted my MP4 video to MKV format with MKVToolNix, as suggested by someone in the forum, then I used Popcorn MKV Audio Converter to change from ACC to AC3... and voila! ... I have an MKV video with 1.5 AC3 sound. Anyway, thanks very much for all your answers.
    Is the audio channel order proper after conversion?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    malaysia
    Search Comp PM
    kevin, i don't know if the audio channels are in proper order. It sounds fine to me. How do you check?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Easiest way is, Check if dialouges are coming out from center channel, if not it is not proper. A good demo dvd would have checking feature in it.
    Quote Quote  
  16. if you have mp4 files or mkv files with aac track, then you can use MP42MKVac3
    this tool is freeware and it can batch processing
    Last edited by remon; 16th Dec 2011 at 01:28.
    Quote Quote  
  17. I use Apple's Compressor 4 which is licensed by Dolby for good compatibility. Handbrake with the video settings set way down low (lowest resolution and bit rate possible) also works.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads