VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 25 of 25
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I have an MKV that has video that has a frame rate of 25.689. This has been confirmed via GSpot, Mplayer and MediaInfo.

    When I load the following scirpt into HCenc, I get the error in the thread title:

    <SCRIPT>
    FFMpegSource("C:\mymovie.mkv", atrack=-2)
    LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,640,352)
    ChangeFPS(25.689)
    </SCRIPT>

    I also took out the ChangeFPS filter and the same error is generated.

    Is HCenc limited to 23.976, 25.00 and 29.97?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    <MEDIAINFO>
    General #0
    Complete name : C:\mymovie.mkv
    Format : Matroska
    File size : 233 MiB
    PlayTime : 24mn 12s
    Bit rate : 1347 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2004-08-13 06:55:24
    Writing application : mkvmerge v0.9.2 built on Jun 29 2004 23:48:14
    Writing library : libebml v0.7.0 + libmatroska v0.7.0

    Video #0
    Codec : DivX 5
    Codec/Family : MPEG-4V
    Codec settings, BVOP : Yes
    Codec settings, QPel : No
    Codec settings, GMC : 0
    Codec settings, Matrix : Default
    PlayTime : 23mn 54s
    Bit rate : 1026 Kbps
    Width : 640 pixels
    Height : 352 pixels
    Display Aspect ratio : 16/9
    Frame rate : 25.689 fps
    Resolution : 8 bits
    Chroma : 4:2:0
    Interlacement : Progressive
    Title :mymovie
    Writing library : DivX503b1263p
    Language : English

    Audio #0
    Codec : MPEG-1 Audio layer 3
    Codec profile : Joint stereo
    PlayTime : 24mn 12s
    Bit rate mode : CBR
    Bit rate : 128 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Resolution : 16 bits
    Language : English

    Audio #1
    Codec : MPEG-1 Audio layer 3
    Codec profile : Joint stereo
    PlayTime : 24mn 12s
    Bit rate mode : CBR
    Bit rate : 128 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Resolution : 16 bits
    Language : Japanese

    Text #0
    Codec : SSA
    Codec/Info : Sub Station Alpha
    Language : English

    Chapters #0
    Language : English
    1 : 00:00:00.000 Preview
    2 : 00:03:25.100 Intro
    3 : 00:04:55.000 Act 1
    4 : 00:11:28.510 Act 2
    5 : 00:22:10.400 Credits
    6 : 00:23:41.000 Preview
    </MEDIAINFO>
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    Is HCenc limited to 23.976, 25.00 and 29.97?

    mpeg2 is
    23.976, 24, 25, 29.97, 30, 50, 59.94, 60


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UNREACHABLE
    Search Comp PM
    I'd recommend this:

    Code:
    DirectShowSource("movie.mkv", fps=25.000, convertfps=true)
    I don't like VFR, btw --- many times, the feature is used without a very-good reason.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Midzuki
    I'd recommend this:

    Code:
    DirectShowSource("movie.mkv", fps=25.000, convertfps=true)
    I don't like VFR, btw --- many times, the feature is used without a very-good reason.
    Yeah, I would rather use DSS, but I have been having problems with certain MKV files with DirectShowSource, so I haven't been using it lately.

    Anyhoo, If I convert the fps, won't the audio be out-of-sync?

    I think I am just going to roll with Quenc, as I have already tried it and know it works (I just wanted to use HCenc for a guide I am writing).
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Does ConvertXToDVD re-encode the video?

    For this frame rate, I am going to go:

    Quenc - no pulldown
    DGpulldown
    FFMpeg to get the audio
    Subtitle Workshop to convert the ssa to srt.

    I have already tested one file in TMPGenc, but I want to use ConvertXToDVD, but if it re-encodes, the audio files will be out of sync.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    I seem to recall manono saying once that you would just encode at 25fps but since it is really 25.689fps it would still be 25.689fps when done. Just drop the line in the script: ChangeFPS(25.689)

    Then afterwards run it through DGPulldown and use the custom option. Enter 25.689fps for the source and 29.970fps for the destination.

    Maybe he will chime in but I think that is what he said ...

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman

    P.S.
    I think you have to use HCenc to do this properly ... or CCE ... I don't think TMPGEnc will work.
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    Is HCenc limited to 23.976, 25.00 and 29.97?
    MPEG only supports certain frame rates. Those you mentioned and a few others (24 ad 30 I think).
    Quote Quote  
  9. Man of Steel freebird73717's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Smallville, USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by FulciLives
    I seem to recall manono saying once that you would just encode at 25fps but since it is really 25.689fps it would still be 25.689fps when done.
    It's been a long time since I have done this but if I remember correctly instead of using convertfps or changefps function I used assumefps(25.00) and then did a custom pulldown 25.689->29.97 with dgpulldown on that output. The result should be a m2v and audio file that should be in sync.

    Yep... I even found the thread that I learned that trick from CLICK HERE
    Donadagohvi (Cherokee for "Until we meet again")
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UNREACHABLE
    Search Comp PM
    Possibly 'DirectShowSource(convertfps=true)' will make the audio track be resampled,
    'AssumeFPS(sync_audio=true)' surely will do it. Better add 'ResampleAudio(48000)'
    to the script and use another application to recompress the audio
    (VirtualDub ++ AC3 ACM, for example).

    P.S.: I presume the "trick" indicated by Alex_ander would
    only work if the value "25.689" were the actual constant framerate.
    Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems Mplayer and MediaInfo are reporting just the
    average framerate of a VFR video stream.




    P.P.S.: DSS also accepts .gfx (Graphedit files) as input.
    Have you already tried them
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    Anyhoo, If I convert the fps, won't the audio be out-of-sync?
    not if you use directshowsource as midzuki showed. if it's vfr that's by far the simplest route.

    and if it's not vfr,
    not if you maintain duration.
    or in changing speed concurrently change audio speed.

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    I think I am just going to roll with Quenc as I have already tried it and know it works
    what do you think quenc is doing?
    it's changing fps.

    Originally Posted by freebird73717
    used assumefps(25.00) and then did a custom pulldown 25.689->29.97 with dgpulldown on that output.
    yeah that's it.
    and it actually came from a thread a week earlier. from me.

    Originally Posted by FulciLives
    P.S.
    I think you have to use HCenc to do this properly ... or CCE ... I don't think TMPGEnc will work.
    anything that maintains framecount.
    saying hc can and tmpg can;t is wrong.
    as hc doesn;t do processing, it relies on avisynth.
    so if you feed the avisynth process to any encoder they'll all work.
    i guess what you mean is tmpg's actual internal framerate change filter
    doesn;t maintain fframecount.

    Originally Posted by Midzuki
    P.S.: I presume the "trick" indicated by Alex_ander would
    only work if the value "25.689" is the actual constant framerate.
    (anything coming out of avisynth is cfr)
    yes it has to be constant,
    yes the easiest way to do vfr->cfr (synced) is to use dss.


    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    Does ConvertXToDVD re-encode the video?

    that sort of dropped out of nowhere...

    to author?
    yeah i think convertx encodes all.

    avstodvd, and the latest betas of dvdflick can take ready encoded parts and do
    their simple authoring.

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    For this frame rate, I am going to go:...
    ....the audio files will be out of sync.
    if it's vfr, and you don;t use what midzuki proposed,
    almost everything you do will not sync.


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by freebird73717
    It's been a long time since I have done this but if I remember correctly instead of using convertfps or changefps function I used assumefps(25.00) and then did a custom pulldown 25.689->29.97 with dgpulldown on that output. The result should be a m2v and audio file that should be in sync.
    That's a cool trick.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the comments.

    I have a question, I just want to know why the following method is wrong? There are 26 of these files and I just put some on DVD using these steps and everything worked:

    1) Used Quenc

    2) Used Script below:
    <script>
    FFMpegSource("C:\mymovie.mkv", atrack=-2)
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    </script>

    3) Used MKVExtract to get the SSA file from MKV

    4) Used Subtitle Workshop to convert SSA to SRT

    5) Used FFMpeg to get the English and Japanese audio

    6) Used DGPulldown and went 25.689->29.97

    7) Used ConvertXToDVD to render the DVD Files

    Of course I didn't do any of this by hand (except for ConvertXToDVD) as the tool TShed did it all for me.

    I tested the output and everything was insync. Why is this method wrong, is the DSS way Midzuki spoke of just more efficient and how would using DSS with audio sync work when your goal is Dual Audio.

    Everyone that has posted on this forum knows more about this stuff than me. I want to write a guide for something and the above was how I was going to do it, that is why I am asking.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    I just want to know why the following method is wrong?
    if it's working, it's not.

    there's just been a stong hint of vfr material, because of the container
    and the abnormal framerate.

    if it's working it's not vfr,
    or you're imagining sync.

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    1) Used Quenc
    that's interesting regarding quenc framerate change.
    not what i'd guess if pushed to guess.
    still,
    i'd not want to rely on it.

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    2) Used Script below:
    <script>
    FFMpegSource("C:\mymovie.mkv", atrack=-2)
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    </script>
    rather, i'd do
    Code:
    FFMpegSource("C:\mymovie.mkv")
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    assumefps(25)
    and use any encoder.

    also remove audio loading in ffmpegsource,
    costly.

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    7) Used ConvertXToDVD to render the DVD Files
    Of course I didn't do any of this by hand (except for ConvertXToDVD)
    and that would mean one can author in convertx,
    leaving sources untouched?

    did you try the tools i mentioned?
    if nothing else you could see how they automated authoring

    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    how would using DSS with audio sync work when your goal is Dual Audio.
    the same


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    45Tripp, I have restarted my batch encode and will use your script:

    Code:
    FFMpegSource("C:\mymovie.mkv") 
    LanczosResize(720,480) 
    assumefps(25)
    Sitting here looking at Quenc fire up, you are right that it seems to be alot quicker less the atrack. I thought it was standard to explicitly disable the audio, that is why I was doing it.

    Also, the way I did it the audio/video was in-sync along with the subtitles.

    As Freebird, Fulci and myself stated, I will again use DGPulldown.

    I am familiar with both DVDFlick and AVSToDVD and along with FAVC, they are my backups in case ConvertXToDVD fail as I think it is a better product.

    I am going to do something different with the audio. Instead of using FFMpeg, which works, I am going to extract the audio with MKVExtract. In the past, whenever I have used MKVExtract, there was always an a/v synch issue, that is why I started using Mencoder or FFMpeg to get the audio.

    DirectShowSource has been acting up on both my PCs, when I use it with Quenc and HCenc (CCE is fine). Even when I disable the audio, I still get the basic windows error and they crash.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Well there is always DGAVCDec which is what I use when I have an MKV with H.264 video. First you demux so you get a video only file which will be called something like filename.h264 then load that into DGAVCDec which makes a project file. You then load that into an AviSynth script. Same principal as when you use DGMPGDec with an MPEG-2 source like a DVD rip.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  17. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UNREACHABLE
    Search Comp PM
    So your MKVs are CFR and evrything is going through the easy path?
    Good! You're lucky!

    Still, I'd like to know how/where/why the value 25.689 fps was found...
    even though Mr. 'Unknown Releaser' will never come give us an answer
    to this question.

    I want to write a guide for something and the above was how I was going to do it,
    that is why I am asking.
    Do you plan/intend to get into "The Scene"
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Midzuki
    So your MKVs are CFR and evrything is going through the easy path?
    Good! You're lucky!

    Still, I'd like to know how/where/why the value 25.689 fps was found...
    even though Mr. 'Unknown Releaser' will never come give us an answer
    to this question.
    Not sure. When dealing with Anime, I have seen a ton of weird frame rates and most of them were CFR. I'm just glad this thread didn't go 4 pages, as is usually the case when I post .

    I have 2 questions for everyone so I can get a better understanding of why everything works:

    1) Why did you choose "AssumeFPS(25)"? Is it because the FPS of 25.689 is close to 25? I had an AVI file a while back that was 20 FPS, would you still have used 25?

    2) As mentioned prior, I put AssumeFPS(25) in the avisynth script. How is it that the audio and video are insync, when the video was encoded at 25 fps and the audio is still 25.689? Is it because I did a custom pulldown with DGPulldown?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Man of Steel freebird73717's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Smallville, USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama

    1) Why did you choose "AssumeFPS(25)"? Is it because the FPS of 25.689 is close to 25?
    Yep

    I had an AVI file a while back that was 20 FPS, would you still have used 25?
    Not sure if it would have made a difference but I would have probably used 23.976 and then did a custom pulldown.

    2) As mentioned prior, I put AssumeFPS(25) in the avisynth script. How is it that the audio and video are in sync, when the video was encoded at 25 fps and the audio is still 25.689? Is it because I did a custom pulldown with DGPulldown?
    Yep. Same just like when you do a pal to ntsc pulldown and the audio is in sync.
    Ya gotta hand it to the guys at doom9 like donald graft (aka neuron2-author if dgpulldown) and Xesdeeni for even coming up with the idea of irregular pulldown
    dgpulldown is just a damn handy tool.
    Donadagohvi (Cherokee for "Until we meet again")
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by freebird73717
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama

    1) Why did you choose "AssumeFPS(25)"? Is it because the FPS of 25.689 is close to 25?
    Yep

    I had an AVI file a while back that was 20 FPS, would you still have used 25?
    Not sure if it would have made a difference but I would have probably used 23.976 and then did a custom pulldown.

    2) As mentioned prior, I put AssumeFPS(25) in the avisynth script. How is it that the audio and video are in sync, when the video was encoded at 25 fps and the audio is still 25.689? Is it because I did a custom pulldown with DGPulldown?
    Yep. Same just like when you do a pal to ntsc pulldown and the audio is in sync.
    Ya gotta hand it to the guys at doom9 like donald graft (aka neuron2-author if dgpulldown) and Xesdeeni for even coming up with the idea of irregular pulldown
    dgpulldown is just a damn handy tool.
    Thanks for the response Freebird.

    Yes, DGPulldown is a great tool. Been using it for a long time, I just never really took the time to understand what was going on.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by freebird73717
    Ya gotta hand it to the guys at doom9 like donald graft (aka neuron2-author if dgpulldown) and Xesdeeni for even coming up with the idea of irregular pulldown
    Not to take anything away from those guys, DGPulldown is a great program. But 3:2:3:2:2 pulldown was around long before they thought of it. I was IVTCing 3:2:3:2:2 caps a few years before then with TMPGEnc Plus's manual pattern method.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    DirectShowSource has been acting up on both my PCs, when I use it with Quenc and HCenc (CCE is fine). Even when I disable the audio, I still get the basic windows error and they crash.
    you should troubleshoot that
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by 45tripp
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    DirectShowSource has been acting up on both my PCs, when I use it with Quenc and HCenc (CCE is fine). Even when I disable the audio, I still get the basic windows error and they crash.
    you should troubleshoot that
    Yeah, it is starting to become annoying.

    Here is the error in FitCD. When I get this error, I know I am going to have some problems if I use DSS.



    Here is what Quenc does. But after I hit ok a couple of times, it starts to encode:



    When I get home, I am going to upload a sample of my m2v output rendered by HCenc, using FFMPegSource. When encoding MKV, using FFMPpegSource, HC and Quenc at times, has some weird output, can't describe it, seems like some of the scenes are pixelated, like there was an error while encoding that frame. I will just upload it, so people can see it.

    I haven't made a big deal about it because normally I just turn around and use CCE and it is fine. But I don't want to use CCE with this particular video.

    Also, the avs script opens up fine in VDM.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    What tool can I use to cut an M2V file? I am trying to load my M2V file into MPEG StreamClip, but it just crashes right when it gets to the end of loading it.

    I would like to upload a sample so people can view it.

    Here is a screen print of the problem I spoke of when I use FFMpegSource with MKV files:


    Alot of frames have this pixelation in it. I know there are other ways, I just wanted to find out if it maybe something unique to my setup.

    Also, I re-encoded using the same avisynth script, encoder (HC), but I changed to DSS and the rendered videos does not have this in it.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Maikeru-sama
    What tool can I use to cut an M2V file?
    i'm sure this has been covered at least a few times in your threads:

    open in dgindex,
    select a section with '[' and ']',
    file-> save project and demux video



    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!