VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am a newbie and I didn't see any place for actually getting TV to work on your computer...

I have a Quad core 2.5ghx with 4gb ram. New build and I want a tv tuner that actually works with it.

I know the video card isn't that great.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102737
    But I got a 20$ one just to wait until the 4870x2 comes out later this month. I will be getting that.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116633
    Here is the TV tuner I bought, I got one with RCA so I can play Xbox on it.. and other game systems of course :P

Here's my problem.
    The least of the problems. I have Satellite, not cable. If there is a card that works well with satelite (where the WinTV [or whatever program I will use] will change satellite channels, not cable, and I can record more than one SATELLITE channel).

for satellite I put it on the TV channel 73, then turn satellite and it works. The quallity isn't what I want. I had a 17" crt monitor, then yesterday I got my new 24" lcd monitor in, thought maybe it could be the monitor, and the quality isn't good at all. You can watch TV on it or play halo, but it's kind of blurry. I built this computer so I wouldn't have this problem

Has to have RCA for gaming systems.

I don't think my video card is the problem here or else everything would be blurry all the time. If you think it is the problem, or think that I can't handle a certain card because of the 512mb card I have, I am getting the 4870x2 card.. so I'll be able to handle anything.

I will spend, I guess, 200-250$ on it.. unless you find a super awesome one..

I have Windows XP. But I'm going to buy another hdd and put Vista on it and dual boot those. So if I need "2005 or later" I will have it by the time I buy that certain TV tuner.

Thanks

-Q
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM