VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    I would just like to know how to get a dvd player to run my autoplay script when loading on a pc. I want a dvd video that would play on the stand alones along with a dvd that can play on the pc. I have already placed a data folder in the with the audio and video folders; however, i just wanted to know if i put an autoplay script in the data folder would the computer load the script. I would like to have a pop up menu when the dvd is placed in the pc
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    It is the same as for a CD. Create file called autorun.inf

    Open it in notepad and enter the following lines

    Code:
    [autorun]  
    open={yourscriptnamehere}
    Where {yourscriptnamehere} is the path and name of your script. This will only work if AutoRun isn't turned off in windows. if it is, there is nothing you can do about it.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    YA LIE!!!!

    and here I was doubting myself. So once there is an autorun file on the dvd the OS looks for it first when the dvd is loaded?
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wan2no
    if i put an autoplay script in the data folder would the computer load the script.
    I think it needs to be in the root directory.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Theres's a little more to it than that.

    Yes, It needs to be in the root folder, and follow the AUTORUN.INF conventions (which you should check out--look at Microsoft's info on this). As noted, you also have to have autoplay turned on, and that drive has to be ok for autoplay. Next, you need to know if there is already a resident (running) app that checks discs for DVD-Video/VCD/AudioCD and plays them automatically. This would include WinDVD, PowerDVD, RoxioPlayer, some RealPlayers, HP's "Q DVD", etc. If they ARE resident, you'll have a conflict of interest--which should run 1st?
    Sometimes it's the resident program, sometimes the autorun, sometimes neither, sometimes it can freeze/stall for a while.

    So, you takes your chances...

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UNREACHABLE
    Search Comp PM
    And for the ones who find the Autorun feature quite annoying:

    Run regedit.exe, goto

    "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\ Cdrom",

    open "AutoRunAlwaysDisable", add the name of your DVD-writer to the list.

    Reboot your computer, and enjoy.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    that is very interesting.

    I do not mean to stray from the topic but if i wanted to write a program for instance say in flash or C# so that when the dvd is placed in the pc a program loads with a welcome screen, which has a load of options, and one of the options is play the movie option. How would I be able to play the movie? Do i need to leave a copy of the video in the data folder or is there a way that i can load straight from the .IFO file so that I can actually play the DVD and not just the video.
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wan2no
    that is very interesting.

    I do not mean to stray from the topic but if i wanted to write a program for instance say in flash or C# so that when the dvd is placed in the pc a program loads with a welcome screen, which has a load of options, and one of the options is play the movie option. How would I be able to play the movie? Do i need to leave a copy of the video in the data folder or is there a way that i can load straight from the .IFO file so that I can actually play the DVD and not just the video.
    Simplest is just to have a DVD player app on your disk. Eg, Videolan (VLC) is just 25 MB. Then one of your options on your welcome screen would be to start VLC as a DVDplayer.

    Something like
    D:\VideoLan\vlc.exe dvd://x:
    but obviously use some variables for the drive names.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    It would have to be the portable version of VLC ( http://portableapps.com/news/2008-06-07_-_vlc_media_player_portable_0.8.6h ), otherwise you would have to force an install before you could play.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    ok but isn't that just opening the program and then the user would have to load the dvd itself?
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member AlanHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wan2no
    ok but isn't that just opening the program and then the user would have to load the dvd itself?
    The " dvd://x:" tells it to open the DVD on drive X:.

    I'd have to look up the syntax to get it to use the default drive -- it's X: on mine, could be D: on yours, for instance.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    If you just want to play the DVD, wouldn't Media Player Classic be a simpler choice ? it is just a single executable and loads much faster than VLC portable.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks alot for the advice.

    Can the same thing be done with audio cd's, that is, will an audio cd still play if i place a program and an autorun script on it.
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    No. Audio CDs are a very different proposition entirely. If you made them data CDs with all the audio encoded as MP3, for example, you could do it. But it is far more difficult to make a true audio CD that will play in a CD player and also have software on it. DVDs were designed to allow this, CDs were not, which is why some cds with copy protection software on board were forbidden to carry the CD Audio logo - they were not true audio CDs.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    ok thanks alot for the advice
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    Is there a way that I can get the autoplay script to relatively load the program for instance instead of
    D:\VideoLan\vlc.exe dvd://x:
    , can i have vlc.exe dvd://x ,if I am correct, so that I can save myself the hassel of not getting the right drive. I know that I may have my dvd drive as D: but you may have 3 or 4 dvd's or you may have an external dvd player and the chances of you having the reserved letter "d" you may get "f","g", "h" or even "k". Yes, I know i left out "i" and "j" .
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grenada
    Search Comp PM
    someone, anyone?
    How's My English?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    You could try dvd://. and see what happens
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!