VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm working on a video project which will ultimately be pristine 1080p60 video (much of it is multimedia from AE, meaning it was never interlaced). I would really like to be able to play it as 1080p60. This shouldn't be impossible. The PS3 and Xbox360 are capable of outputting 1080p60. Tons (most?) of the displays out there can accept 1080p60 and display it natively.

But I'm struggling with options. What can I use to play the file?

I will preface with the following: Using a Windows box (any Windows box) to actually play the video is not an option. I've toyed with at least 100 different Windows boxes, and not one of them was capable of giving me a consistently flat framerate, quite regardless of the pc's power and the demands of the media. A flat framerate is quite simply beyond the capability of the OS. No need to profess difference on the topic; I've got plenty of personal experience.

With that out of the way, let's see what's left.

Xbox360 or PS3: As far as I know, you can get these two beasts to play media either from disc or via a media server. I can't go the disc route because the video is 1080p and will be over two hours long. (And I don't have a Blu-ray burner, but more on that later.) There just isn't enough space on one DVDR9 for that bulk of media at that resolution, without a dramatic reduction in quality.