VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi people, new to this forum and I must Say looks nice. I have a burning question that I need tips on. I'm a newbie at this forum but have spent hours with Roxio, pinnacle studio, premiere pro, Ulead and Windvd editing hours and hours of videos from DV cameras.

But now something different has come up. My parents, sister and I have tons of these very old BETA and VHS tapes (beta was competitor to VHS tapes, "like Blue Ray Vs Hi Definition". Like VHS they use RCA cables). These tapes are deteriorating and it's obvious. I purchased a capture card called Pinnacle MovieBoard for analog to Digital conversion which works superb. This 100$ card will beat any non-professional capture card out there, it does great things, and permits me to make the video at a slightly better quality with some software applications.

But out of the whole bunch of tapes, 6 of them are home videos (totaling about 15-20 hours.) We would like to have these videos redone and fixed in high Quality. What I mean by this is to have the Image cleaned, all the little imperfections that come up here and there fixed and all recopied to DVD.

I'm trying to determine whether it would be a good idea to have it done professionally in my city at 60-75$/tape or if I should purchase a good piece of hardware like the Canopus ADVC300:

http://www.canopus.com/products/ADVC300/index.php

This is a piece of hardware with TBC and have heard many great things about it. I can get one for about 450$, roughly the same priced we'd pay a pro to restore the video. I am experienced with editing software and am a genius with computers, so figuring out how to get the most out of this box, even though could take me time and test my patience would not be a problem.