VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Ok, I am totally new at this software, but I have gotten into it with help from this forum.

Few things...when I opened the DVD file I have been working on, it goes through it's test and tells me I have open GOPs. The chapter menus connecting to the movie are highlighted in red. I am assuming that's bad. Any advice?

Also, where is the text option? I just can't seem to find where and how to add it and edit it.

Cheers.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Oh, and when I search for an mp3 on the hard drive through the asset window, they won't show up unless I select "All Files" and even then it won't add it to the window.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Open GOPs is only a warning, and unrelated to the red symbols. You can turn the Open GOP warning off in the Project Properties dialogue.

The red chapter symbols are telling you that you haven't indexed the movie yet. You can do this by right-clicking on the movie clip in the movie window, or from the Movie menu. In both instances the option is under the Chapter sub-menu

You can use MP3 audio in a DVD. Simple as that. DVD Lab Pro does not do any encoding natively. It has limited transcoding abilities in certain circumstances. Convert your MP3 audio to something DVD compliant (WAV, or AC3 would be best) then import it.

The text object is the Aa icon next to the menu screen. To edit existing text, double click on it.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    To add to guns1inger's assessment, DVDLabPro does have some limited encoding capablilities, but it's to be used for creating motion menus only. In my version, one has the option to encode motion menus to AVI, which can then reencoded to outside of DVDLab to MPEG2; or you can encode directly to MPEG2 (that's the option I usually use in that I'm basically lazy).